Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use article databases to identify articles on specific topics, as well as to locate full-text electronic articles. Find them on the Articles, Indexes, and Databases page linked from the Library homepage. Remote access is available for most journals.
Multdisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete are a good place to start for most topics. Once you have chosen your paper topic, consult a librarian to see which databases are the best suited for your reseach. See here for information on finding fulltext articles.
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
ASCE's electronic retrieval service to its full-text journal articles and conference proceedings. Includes backfiles to 1983 for journals and 1996 for proceedings.
ICE (Institution of Civil Engineers) Proceedings This link opens in a new window
Access only to fulltext for the Proceedings. Coverage varies by title, approximately 2001-current.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for life sciences. Includes links to full-text articles in ScienceDirect, BioOne1, and other databases.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Register first through the link below. We have upgraded our SciFinder access to the new Scifinder-n platform! This includes PatentPak and MethodsNow as well as improved functionality.
SciFinder Scholar - Register for access This link opens in a new window
SciFinder may now be used through any web browser - users must register with CAS and receive a login name and password. Access through the client software version of SciFinder is no longer available.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals available 1995 to current.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database. Includes the ability to do subject searching.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current. Also contains a collection of over 29,000 electronic books from Springer Publishing for the years 2005 to 2011. Sort your results by date so that the books we have access to will appear first. You can also tell if a book is part of our collection if the square to the left of the title is green.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Psychology, Business & Management, Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections.
Set preferences to University of South Alabama to show links to our material.