Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World Digital Library
A project of the Library of Congress, UNESCO, and various institutions from around the world, this site provides digital access to rare and unique documents from a wide variety of cultures. Formats included are books, journals, manuscripts, maps, prints and photographs, films, and sound recordings.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A set of collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts, maps, and articles on a wide variety of historical areas. Organized by geographical area and time period, the site includes links to primary sources from not only the Western world, but Africa and the Islamic and Eastern world as well.
Islamic Heritage Project
Sponsored by Harvard University, the IHP includes more than 600 Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts.
Chinese Text Project
A digital library that assembles early Chinese texts, many of which have English translations.
Duke Papyrus Archive
The Duke Papyrus Archive provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt.
A multi-lingual online collection of millions of digital items, Europeana includes treasures from European museums, libraries, archives, and multi-media collections. Among the institutions represented are the British Library, the Louvre, and the Rijksmuseum.
British History Online
Includes full-text editions of primary sources, such as the journals of the Houses of Parliament. Most documents are from between 1500 and 1850.
British Library Online Gallery
Offers access to 30,000 images from various medieval books and selected exhibition items. Also includes the facility to "turn the pages" of many important works, including the Magna Carta and Leonardo da Vinci's notebooks.
The digital collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France include 120,000 scanned items; 65,000 full-text volumes; 1,000 audio recordings; and 110,000 images from French history.
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Sponsored by the University of Alicante, this site is the largest open access repository of Spanish language historical texts and literature from the Ibero-American world.
Internet Library of Early Journals
Contains 18th and 19th digital versions of several well known English journals, including Notes and Queries, Annual Register, and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society.
European History Primary Sources
This site provides links to other primary source archives that primarily include documents from European history. The site is searchable by country, language, period, subject, and the type of source.
Internet Sacred Text
This site provides primary and secondary sources whose copyright have expired and are in the public domain.
Yale Law School's Avalon Project - this site has government and diplomatic documents from ancient to modern times, including lots of documents on the Middle East.