Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MA 410: History of Mathematics: Finding Articles

MathSciNet

Search Our Journal List

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Databases

The following book can be used for finding articles on the history of mathematics:

May, Kenneth O.(1973) Bibliography and research manual of the history of mathematics. Toronto: University of Toronto Press,
Call Number:
Univ. Library Reference Z 6651 .M38 (2nd Floor North) and Marx Library Bookstacks Z 6651 .M38 (4th Floor North)

The following databases are useful for finding articles on the history of mathematics, but this list is not comprehensive. For a complete list of library databases, see Articles, Indexes and Databases. If you want to know if the library has a specific journal title, check Our Journal List.

Anatomy of a Citation in May's Bibliography

May, Kenneth O.(1973) Bibliography and research manual of the history of mathematics. Toronto: University of Toronto Press.
Call Number:
Univ. Library Reference Z 6651 .M38 (2nd Floor North) and one temporarily shelved at the Marx Library Circulation Desk, 2 Hour Library Reserve (1st Floor North).


Sample citation for an article in the Biography section of May:

Euclid

Alimov, N G 1955 Ist M Isl 8, 573-619 (MR17, 1; Z68, 3)
[quantity, proportion]

  1. The underlined name is the name of the mathematican the article is about.
  2. Alimov, N G is the author of the article
  3. 1955 is the year this article was published
  4. Ist M Isl is the abbreviation for the journal the article is in; in this case it's Istoriko-matematicheskie issledovaniya. The list of serials abbreviations and what they stand for starts on page 709.
  5. The number after Ist M Isl is the volume number of the journal in which the article appears.
  6. 573-619 are the page numbers where you'll find the article
  7. MR 17, 1 stands for Mathematical Reviews volume 17, page 1 (for Reviews published after 1958, this number is instead the review number instead of the page number.)
  8. Z68 stands for Zentralblatt volume 68, page 3
  9. The words in brackets are keywords May has used to describe what the article is about.

 

History of Math Journals

Interesting Articles

Bai, Limin. (1995). Mathematical Study and Intellectual Transition in the Early and Mid-Qing. Late Imperial China. 16 (2):2-61.
https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://gateway.proquest.com/openurl?url_ver=Z39.88-2004&res_dat=xri:pao-us:&rft_dat=xri:pao:article:v503-1995-016-02-000002

Grattan-Guinness, I. (2004). The mathematics of the past: distinguishing its history from our heritage. Historia Mathematica. 31 (2):163-18.
https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/science?_ob=GatewayURL&_method=citationSearch&_uoikey=B6WG9-49M6N9G-1&_origin=SDEMFRHTML&_version=1&md5=95ce9be7e096bf75ac936a8967c0c3d4

Kvasz, Ladislav. (2000). Changes of Language in the Development of Mathematics. Philosophia Mathematica. 8: 47 - 83
https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://philmat.oxfordjournals.org/cgi/reprint/14/3/287

Neugebauer, Otto and G. Waldo Dunnington. (1936). The History of Mathematics. National Mathematics Magazine. 11 (1):17-2.
https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/3028164

Olson, Mark A. (1988). Descartes' First Meditation: Mathematics and the Laws of Logic. Journal of the History of Philosophy, 26 (3): 407-438.
https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/journal_of_the_history_of_philosophy/v026/26.3olson.pdf

Onians, John. (1989). War, Mathematics, and Art in Ancient Greece. History of the Human Sciences .  2 (1): 39-62.
https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://hhs.sagepub.com/content/2/1/39.full.pdf+html

Parshall, Karen Hunger. (1988). The Art of Algebra from al-Kwãrizmi to Viète: A Study in the Natural Selection of Ideas. History of Science, 2 (:2=72): 129-16.
https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://gateway.proquest.com/openurl?url_ver=Z39.88-2004&res_dat=xri:pao-us:&rft_dat=xri:pao:article:e363-1988-026-02-000002

S. T. S.. (1933). Historic Contests in Mathematics. Mathematics News Letter. 8 (3). 49-50.
https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/302755

Zitarelli, David E. (2001). Towering Figures in American Mathematics, 1890-195. The American Mathematical Monthly. 108 (7): 606-635.
https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/2695269