Service
We create a welcoming and engaging environment where we attain success by assessing and then meeting patrons’ information needs.
Collaboration
We work interdependently, communicating with respect and openness in pursuit of shared goals.
Communication
We share critical information in a timely manner to relevant stakeholders, accepting and utilizing feedback.
Professionalism
We demonstrate a high level of professionalism through the sustained practice of integrity, respect, civility, dependability, and a commitment to lifelong learning.
Adaptability
We demonstrate adaptability by responding to conditions and circumstances with creativity and flexibility in order to continue to fulfill the USA Libraries’ mission.
The USA College of Medicine was founded in 1972 and the Biomedical Library was founded in 1973. The original Biomedical Library was tucked into a corner of the University Library building until its move to its current quarters in 1991/92. Currently the Charles M. Baugh Biomedical Library is a 35,000 nsf facility located on the USA campus, adjacent to the College of Medicine building. The Biomedical Library features library materials, study rooms, collaboration areas, instructional space, and the John F. Gray Student Veterans Resource Room, and provides reference and interlibrary loan services. The Biomedical Library oversees hospital-based library services, as well as an extensive program of instruction to support the Colleges of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health Professions. Biomedical Library faculty work closely with clinical and teaching faculty to support student learning and information services for USA Health System personnel and patients.
The student veteran resource room (CBBL 328) is located in the Charles M. Baugh Biomedical Library. This collaborative effort between USA Libraries and USA's Veterans Affairs office is intended to provide a safe haven for our student veterans. Not only is this a comfortable study space, it has been optimized to provide a welcoming environment to foster JagVet success.
Since its founding in 1978, as the University of South Alabama Photographic Archives, the mission of the Doy Leale McCall Rare Book and Manuscript Library has been to collect and preserve recorded evidence of the history of the people of south Alabama and to promote its use for original research. Our collection scope includes material related to the Alabama Black Belt, the city of Mobile and environs, and the institutional history of the University of South Alabama. Extensive photograph and manuscript collections broadly document life in the region from the early nineteenth century to the present. The McCall Library strives for inclusive representation of all segments of the population and actively pursues community partnerships to this end.
Our collections currently encompass approximately 750 individual accessions of varying sizes including paper-based collections spanning approximately 6,500 linear feet, and more than 3.4 million photographic images. In addition, we have growing digital collections which allow us to reach beyond the walls of the institution. The McCall Library serves University of South Alabama students and faculty, the city of Mobile and environs, and researchers from around the world.
We invite you to explore our collections, policies, and fees using the navigation bar on the left. Check our News page for events and additions to the collections. Follow us on Facebook @mccalllib, Twitter @USA_McCallLib, and Instagram @mccall_usa
The Marx Library is the general library located on the main campus and houses a Learning Commons offering reconfigurable table and lounge seating, whiteboards and technology for individual and group project development; group study rooms, photocopiers, networked printers; an auditorium and meeting rooms available for reservation; galleries featuring shows by student, faculty and regional artists, traveling exhibits, and special displays from the university collections. A full-service Starbucks is located at the west entrance to Marx Library. Reference, interlibrary loan, printing, photocopying, and other services are also available. USA’s Student Academic Support JagSuccess tutoring services and its Writing Center are located within Marx Library. Marx Library houses the university’s U.S. Documents collection. Marx Library faculty provide instructional services at the USA Baldwin County Campus.
Located in the Mitchell College of Business, the Joseph & Rebecca Mitchell Learning Resource Center houses a business library, featuring a reading room and group study rooms, a computer lab, and the John B. Saint Financial Analysis Center.