LibGuides at USA: PSC 490: Native American Sovereignty: Finding Articles

Recommended Political Science Databases

Start with the databases below to find information on your topic.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business and legal research. For educational activities only.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text available for 574 journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database. Includes the ability to do citation searching.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
860 full-text journals in the social sciences.

Watch the tutorials linked below to how to use these databases.

Search Advice

Recommended Journals for Native American Sovereignty

American Indian Culture and Research Journal
This premiere journal in Native American studies, publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts.
American Indian Law Review
The American Indian Law Review is a student-run biannual law review affiliated with the University of Oklahoma College of Law. The American Indian Law Review serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for analysis of developments in legal issues pertaining to Native Americans and indigenous peoples worldwide.
The American Indian Quarterly
This journal includes diverse voices and perspectives spanning a variety of academic disciplines. The common thread is AIQ’s commitment to publishing work that contributes to the development of American Indian studies as a field and to the sovereignty and continuance of American Indian nations and cultures.
American Journal of Political Science
The American Journal of Political Science is committed to significant advances in knowledge and understanding of citizenship, governance, and politics, and to the public value of political science research. AJPS is the official journal of the Midwest Political Science Association.
American Journal of Sociology
The American Journal of Sociology is a peer-reviewed bi-monthly academic journal that publishes original research and book reviews in the field of sociology and related social sciences.
American Sociological Review
The American Sociological Review is a bi-monthly peer-reviewed academic journal covering all aspects of sociology.
Ethnic and Racial Studies
This journal aims to be the leading journal for the analysis of the role of race, racism, ethnicity, migration and forms of ethno-nationalism. These social phenomena are at the heart of many of the major social and political issues in the modern world, drawing particularly on sociology, social policy, anthropology, political science, international relations, geography, history, social psychology and cultural studies.
Human Organization
Human Organization is the peer-reviewed research journal of the Society for Applied Anthropology. Published quarterly since 1941, it is the second-longest continuously published journal in cultural anthropology in the United States.
Journal of American Indian Education
The Journal of American Indian Education (JAIE) is a journal featuring original scholarship on education issues of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and Indigenous peoples worldwide.
The Journal of Politics
Established in 1939 and published for the Southern Political Science Association, The Journal of Politics is a leading general-interest journal of political science and the oldest regional political science journal in the United States. The scholarship published in The Journal of Politics is theoretically innovative and methodologically diverse, and comprises a blend of the various intellectual approaches that make up the discipline.
NAIS: Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association
As the journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association, Native American and Indigenous Studies (NAIS) is based in North America but seeks to bridge the distances across the Indigenous world. The editors of NAIS are committed to creating a dynamic intellectual space for the communication and dissemination of excellent scholarship related to Indigenous Studies.
Practicing Anthropology
Practicing Anthropology is a career-oriented publication of the Society for Applied Anthropology.
Wicazo Sa Review
The Wíčazo Ša Review is a biannual peer-reviewed academic journal of Native American studies. The journal was established in 1985 by editors-in-chief Elizabeth Cook-Lynn, Roger Buffalohead, and William Willard.

Finding Full Text in an EBSCO Database

To find full text articles in a database, first do a search. (Note: this guide shows an EBSCO database, but the general steps for locating full-text articles will be similar in most databases.)

If full text is available within the database, it will be listed below the result in the results list. You may see it in PDF or HTML format.

If full text is not an option below the result, use the Check for Full Text button.

This will open a new browser window which will tell you if the article's full text is available elsewhere. You are looking for a link that says View this article. Click this link.

You should be taken to the full text of the article in another database. In this case, it is in ScienceDirect.