LibGuides at USA: AN 355: Gender and Anthropology: Finding Journals

Recommended Anthropology Search Tools

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.
OneSearch Advanced Interface This link opens in a new window
Advanced search interface to OneSearch, USA Libraries' discovery search. Includes books, e-books, government documents, articles, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database. Includes the ability to do citation searching.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Psychology, Business & Management, Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections.

Google Scholar

Remember, you can use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) with Google.

You can also use "phrase searching" (words in quotation marks) to keep words together.

Recommended Anthropology & Gender Journals

Feminist Anthropology
This journal seeks to champion and innovate many epistemological and methodological approaches that speak to issues of gender equity, inclusion, and radical possibility.
Gender & Society
This journal is a top-ranked journal in sociology and women's studies and publishes less than 10% of all papers submitted to it. Articles analyze gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces.
Sexualities: Studies in Culture and Society
This journal publishes peer-reviewed, scholarly articles that exemplify the very best of current research. It is published six times a year and aims to present cutting-edge debate and review for an international readership of scholars, lecturers, postgraduate students and advanced undergraduates.
Social Forces
This journal publishes articles of interest to a general social science audience and emphasizes cutting-edge sociological inquiry as well as explores realms the discipline shares with psychology, anthropology, political science, history, and economics.
Ethnology
Note: Publication of this journal was suspended in 2012, but past content might be useful. This journal offers a range of research in general cultural and social anthropology in the United States.

Finding Full Text in an EBSCO Database

To find full text articles in a database, first do a search. (Note: this guide shows an EBSCO database, but the general steps for locating full-text articles will be similar in most databases.)

If full text is available within the database, it will be listed below the result in the results list. You may see it in PDF or HTML format.

If full text is not an option below the result, use the Check for Full Text button.

This will open a new browser window which will tell you if the article's full text is available elsewhere. You are looking for a link that says View this article. Click this link.

You should be taken to the full text of the article in another database. In this case, it is in ScienceDirect.

AN 355: Gender and Anthropology: Finding Journals

Where to Start

Recommended Anthropology Search Tools

Google Scholar

Recommended Anthropology & Gender Journals

Finding Full Text in an EBSCO Database