This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "SY: Sociology 500-Level Research Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SY: Sociology 500-Level Research Resources  

Last Updated: Mar 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Periodicals Locations

Periodicals (newspapers, magazines, and journals) are located in several areas of the library, depending on their format and age.

Current print periodicals: 2nd floor south, shelved alphabetically by title

Periodicals on microfilm or microfiche: 2nd floor south, in metal cabinets

Older print periodicals: 2nd floor south, shelved by call number

Electronic periodicals: accessible via the library homepage

Selected Databases

  • SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
    860 full-text journals in the social sciences.
  • SAGE Journals Online
    Full-text available for 574 journals.
  • Wiley Online Library
    Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Psychology, Business & Management, Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections.
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
  • PsycINFO (EBSCO)
    Citations and abstracts for the literature of psychology.
  • PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
    Includes 80 full-text APA journals

Our Journal List

To see if a particular journal is in the Libraries' collection, or to browse journal titles by discipline, use the Our Journal List link.

  • Browse Sociology Journals at USA
  • Journal/E-Book List
    The list of newspapers, magazines, and journals subscribed to by the library. Use this to search a specific periodical or to locate a citation. You can also browse for journals in a particular discipline.
  • Citation Linker
    If you have a citation and want to see if the book or article is available in the USA Libraries, use this link.

Finding Dissertations

USA Dissertations are located in the reference area of the Marx Library on the 2nd floor, north side. They may be checked out. USA dissertations are also listed in the library catalog (SOUTHcat) and in the dissertation database listed below.

NOTE: The Marx Library does not hold many dissertations from other universities, and they can be very hard to obtain. Check with the reference desk if you have problems.

  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
    Use this database to find dissertations from many universities. YOU WILL ONLY HAVE ACCESS TO USA DISSERTATIONS.
  • Dissertation Express
    Free access to the citations, without abstracts, of the dissertations in Dissertation Abstracts. Ordering database only. Search by author, title, or UMI order number.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Kathryn Jones
Contact Info
Marx Library, Room 159
(251) 460-7033
Send Email

Guide Author

Profile Image
Ellen Wilson
Logo - Google Talk
Contact Info
Marx Library 250
251-460-6045
Send Email
Job title:
Instructional Services Librarian
My favorite books are:
Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, Emotionally Weird, A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again, Franny and Zooey, Imogene's Antlers
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip