LibGuides at USA: GEO 321: National Parks Conservation: General Resources

Course Info

GEO 321: National Parks Conservation, USA Course Catalog

"An analysis of the motives and processes for establishing national parks and nature reserves, the primary conservation and preservation issues they have, and the influences of ecology, politics, and culture on their planning and management. US national parks are emphasized."

DOCUMENTS LINKS

Getting Started

These reference sources may help you find useful information for this class. This guide is by no means comprehensive; rather, it is intended to serve as a starting point for your research and assignments. For futher assistance, contact a librarian.

Web Resources

Common Ground: Preserving Our Nation's Heritage
Magazine
Spring 2003 - Winter 2011
CRM: The Journal of Heritage Stewardship
National Center for Cultural Resources, NPS
Spring 2003 - Winter 2011 (v. 1-8)
CRM Bulletin
National Center for Cultural Resources, NPS
1991 - 2002 (v.14-25)
Find a Park
List names, addresses, phone numbers, date established and a short description of listings from the national park system.
GAO Reports and Testimonies
Reports from the Government Accountability Office (GAO). Search by Topic: "Natural Resources and Environment" , by Agency: "National Park Service", or by keyword (e.g. "Yellowstone")
National Parks: Index 2012/2016
U.S. National Parks Service, 2016
National Park Service Administrative History: A Guide (2004 ed.)
Includes bibliography of administrative histories, listings of records at National Archives.
National Park System: What Do the Different Park Titles Signify?
by Laura B. Comay
(CRS Report, R41816)
Congressional Research Service, Nov. 15, 2023 (vers. 22) [15 pgs]
National Park System Map and Guide
2013 ed.
NPS Historical Handbook Series
Series of educational handbooks on the history and archeology of individual parks.
NPS National Park Service History
Focus is on the history of the NPS rather than on individual parks.
NPS National Reports
Includes reports on Annual Park Ranking Report, Annual Visitation Summary Report, Park Acreage Reports, Recreation Visitation by State and by Park, etc.
1979 - present
NPS Park Histories
Listing by specific parks, links to published resources available on the web.
NPS Planning, Environment and Public Comment (PEPC)
Listing of current projects under review for environment assessment by park management.
Park Science
Journal
1980 (v.1) - present
Recreation.Gov
Recreation.gov helps you discover and book trips to all of America's public places. It is sponsored by numerous government agencies: BLM, FHWA, NOAA, SI, FS, USACE, FWS, NPS, TVA, USBR, and NARA.
U. S. National Park Service (NPS)
Visitor Use Statistics
1979 - present

Library Resources

National Park System Map and Guide
Marx Lib Gov Docs Bookstacks (2nd FL South)
I 29.9/2:P 21/2/ 1994, 2002, 2006, 2011, 2018
National Parks: Index 2012/2016
Marx Library Gov Docs (2nd FL North)
I 29.103:2012/2016
National Park Service Handbooks
Marx Library Gov Docs (2nd FL South)
I 29.9/5:
Check SOUTHcat for specific holdings.
National Parks Information Circulars
Marx Library Gov Docs (2nd FL South)
I 29.6:
Check SOUTHcat for specific holdings.
CRM: The Journal of Heritage Stewardship
Marx Library Gov Docs (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
I 29.86/2-2:
v. 1, no. 2 (Summer 2004) - v. 8, no. 1/2 (Wint/Sum 2011)
CRM Bulletin
Marx Library Gov Docs, Microfiche (2nd FL South)
I 29.86/2:
v. 10 - 24 (1987 - 2001) Incomplete
Marx Library Gov Docs (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
I 29.86/2:
v. 1 - 8 (1978 - 1985) Scattered issues
Common Ground
Marx Library Gov Docs (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
I 29.59/5-2:
v. 1, no. 1 (1996, Spring) - v. 17, no. 1/3 (2012, Fall) [incomplete]
Park Science
Marx Library Gov Docs (Non-Circ, 2nd FL South)
I 29.3/4:
v. 10 (1990) - present [incomplete]
National Parks: The Magazine of the National Parks Conservation Association
Marx Library Journals (Bound & Current on 2nd FL South)
SB 482 .N27
v. 55 (1981) - v. 90 (2016)
Available online through General OneFile database, 2000-present.
National Parks & Conservation Magazine
Marx Library Journals (Bound-2nd Floor South)
SB 482 .N27
v. 44 - 54 (1970 - 1980)
National Parks Magazine
Marx Library Journals (Bound-2nd Floor South)
SB 482 .N27
v. 37 - 44 (1963 - 1970)

Government Documents Librarian & Depository Coordinator

Vicki Tate

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Library RM 222
University of South Alabama
5901 USA Dr. N.
Mobile, AL 36688

251-460-7024

Subjects: Government Documents