This is the "Faculty Positions" page of the "Library Positions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Oct 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/libraryjobs Print Guide RSS Updates

Faculty Positions Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference & Instruction

Digital Initiatives Librarian

The Digital Initiatives Librarian will work with the Marx Library Head of Reference & Instruction and the Director of the Doy Leale McCall Rare Book and Manuscript Library to manage existing locally held digital content and to identify and develop prospective digital projects. Because the USA Libraries are new to locally managing digital content, the Digital Initiatives Librarian must be knowledgeable about descriptive, technical, administrative, and structural metadata standards and content. The librarian in this position will work collaboratively with the Head of Reference and with the McCall Rare Book and Manuscript Library Director to develop, implement, and manage digital projects and policies/procedures applicable to digital collections. The Digital Initiatives Librarian will process and manage both born-digital content and digitized collections; work to convert appropriate text, image, audiovisual or analog collections to digital formats; conduct instruction sessions for classes about the digital collections, keep abreast of current and emerging best practices for managing digital content, and pursue sources of external funding for digital projects. The Digital Initiatives Librarian will be a strong supporter of and advocate for the digital and digital preservation needs of both the Marx and McCall Libraries.

This librarian will provide instructional services and reference desk services as assigned, including evening and weekend rotations, and will be the library liaison to at least one academic department. In addition to participating in instruction and collection development activities, the Digital Initiatives Librarian will be involved in Library, professional, and University service, and professional development and scholarly activities that will lead to tenure and promotion. This librarian will also perform other duties as assigned.

This is a twelve-month, tenure-track Library faculty appointment with an estimated start date of January 1, 2015, at the Assistant Librarian rank.

Duties and Responsibilities

Manage locally-held digital content
Develop and implement policies and procedures for digital content
Identify, develop, and implement prospects for new digital collections
Manage and process born-digital collections
Convert image, text, and media content to digital formats, when appropriate
Develop, maintain, and expand knowledge of digital formats and best practices in the area of digital archives and content
Pursue outside sources of funding for digital projects
Perform bibliographic instruction for the University community
Participate in reference department duties such as night and weekend rotation
Participate in collection development activities
Actively participate in professional organizations on the state, regional, or national level

 Qualifications: Required

Earned Master's degree in Library Science from an ALA-accredited program
At least two years of relevant professional experience, preferably in an academic library
Familiarity with both current and developing metadata standards relevant to digital projects and archives, particularly Dublin Core
Knowledge of best practices for digitization and archives
Knowledge of copyright laws and rights management in a digital environment
Demonstrated knowledge of computer software such as ContentDM and Photoshop
Demonstrated excellent interpersonal oral and written English language skills
Demonstrated interest in professional development
Demonstrated strong organizational skills

Qualifications: Preferred

Familiarity with DACS and EAD
Additional master’s degree
Experience working with digital collections
Previous experience in instruction, collection development, or reference services

Review of applications will begin November 6, 2014, and will continue until the position is filled. Submit letter of application, CV or resume, official transcripts and three signed professional letters of reference to:

Kathy Wheeler, Chair Digital Initiatives Librarian Search Committee
Marx Library, University of South Alabama
5901 USA Drive North
Mobile, AL 36688
kwheeler@southalabama.edu

Candidates can view http://www.cityofmobile.org for information about the Mobile area.

Equal Opportunity Employer – Minorities/Females/Veterans/Disabled

 

Find Guide on Mobile Devices

Library Jobs

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip