This is the "Home" page of the "HPE 500: Administration and Supervision in HPE" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HPE 500: Administration and Supervision in HPE  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2013 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/hpe500 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Guide Author

Profile Image
Ellen Wilson
Logo - Google Talk
Contact Info
Marx Library 250
251-460-6045
Send Email
Job title:
Instructional Services Librarian
My favorite books are:
Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, Emotionally Weird, A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again, Franny and Zooey, Imogene's Antlers
 

Finding Articles - Where to Search

There are a variety of places you can find articles about sports and their economic impact. A few suggestions are given in this guide but this list is not comprehensive. For additional assistance, please contact the reference desk. Contact information is given on the Ask a Librarian tab on this page or use my contact information in the left column of this page and on the Help & More tab above.

No matter where you search, it's important to have a good search strategy. Use keywords in your search rather than typing in a question or sentence. For example, instead of "What is the economic impact of a sports tournament on the local economy?" start with something like "sports economic impact." Also, your search will most likely need to be revised several times before you find your best sources. Do not just take the first results you see and assume they are the best sources.

Finding Articles - Individual Databases

Searching individual databases provides a more targeted search environment. Your search will not be as broad as one in OneSearch (discussed in the next box below) but your results will all come from specialized databases. The databases below do not contain books, government documents, and media items - just articles. I recommend that in higher level courses in your major you learn the most important databases for your field and do most of your searching there.

A few databases that may be useful for this course are listed below. Feel free to contact the reference librarians for assistance with these and for suggestions of other places to look. These databases are available for you to use from off campus. You will be prompted to log in (instructions are given) before you enter the database.

Note: These are targeted to the particular aspect of leisure studies addressed in this class, so there may be better places to search for courses dealing with other aspects of lesisure studies.

Finding Articles - OneSearch

OneSearch can be thought of as a Google-like search of much of our library's collection. It searches our library catalog (books, government documents, media) and many (but not all) of our subscription databases. The advantage of OneSearch is the breadth of the search. However, this is also a disadvantage - you can easily be overwhelmed by the results. Be sure to take advantage of the limiting options on the left side of the results screen. For example, limit your results by date and to academic journals.

An in-depth guide to OneSearch is available at the OneSearch tab near the top of this page. You can use OneSearch from off campus. You will be prompted to log in after results are shown but before you can access full text. Instructions are given. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip