This is the "Integrative Assignment Resources" page of the "CAS 100: Living as Global Citizens (Learning Community)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CAS 100: Living as Global Citizens (Learning Community)  

Library resources for students in the Living as Global Citizens learning community
Last Updated: Nov 7, 2011 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/globalcitizens Print Guide RSS Updates
Integrative Assignment Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Country Information

The following sites provide reliable information about countries worldwide.

 

Selected Reference Books

Reference books can be a great source of background information. Below is a list of only a few of the reference books held by the Marx Library that may be useful to you in your group project.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, & Conflict
Call Number: Reference HM 886 .E53 1999
ISBN: 9780122270109
Publication Date: 1999

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Wars
Call Number: Reference D 25 .A2 P49 2005
ISBN: 0816028516
Publication Date: 2005

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Military History
Call Number: Reference D 25 .A2 I58 2006
ISBN: 0415936616
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians
Call Number: Bookstacks DS 113.6 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2005

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts
Call Number: Reference GN 496 .E56 2003
ISBN: 9780313015748
Publication Date: 2003
Also available in electronic format.

Finding Books

To find books, search the library catalog. To search for phrases like "Middle East" use quotation marks around the phrase. Using a ? acts as a wildcard, so searching Africa? will find Africa, African, Africana, etc. Combine keywords to find books on a country and a specific topic.

  • SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog
    SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
  • SOUTHcat Tutorials
    This series of tutorials aims to provide an overview of SOUTHcat, the library catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. The library catalog contains records for books, e-books, journal titles, DVDs, CDs, videos, and government documents held by the libraries.

Finding Articles

Newspaper, magazine, and journal articles can be good sources of information. Several places to search are listed below - if you run into problems, ask for help!

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
  • JSTOR
    A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline. USA subscribes to the JSTOR collections listed below.
  • SAGE Journals Online
    Full-text available for 574 journals.
  • Periodicals Archive Online
    Backfiles for periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Database of news, business and legal research. For educational activities only.
  • ProQuest Newsstand

Guide Author

Profile Image
Ellen Wilson
Contact Info
University Library 250
251-460-6045
Send Email
Job title:
Instructional Services Librarian
My favorite books are:
Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, Emotionally Weird, A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again, Franny and Zooey, Imogene's Antlers
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip