This is the "Finding Scholarly Sources" page of the "EH 105: Honors Composition (Harrington)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EH 105: Honors Composition (Harrington)  

Library resources for students in Dr. Harrington's section of Honors Composition.
Last Updated: Nov 3, 2011 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/eh105-harrington Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Scholarly Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guides

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
by Ellen Wilson - Last Updated Jun 16, 2011
245 views this year
Finding Full Text Articles
by Ellen Wilson - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
88 views this year
Peer-Review: What is It?
by Elizabeth Rugan - Last Updated Jan 31, 2011
A guide to understanding peer-review and how to find peer-reviewed sources at the University Library
112 views this year
Basic Guide to SOUTHcat
by Ellen Wilson - Last Updated Aug 21, 2012
SOUTHcat is the catalog of the libraries at the University of South Alabama. It contains records for the books, electronic books, journals, government documents, CDs, DVDs, and other media items held by the libraries.
16 views this year
 

Search Google Books

Part of Google's library-scanning project. Only books in the public domain are shown in full text. Others may have just a citation or show selected pages from the book. Remember, you can check SOUTHcat to see if we have a book you find in Google Books if the full text is not available.




 

Finding Books

To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.

  • Catalog tips and tricks:
    • Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("Harry Potter")
    • Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its variants (hero? finds hero, heroine, heroism...)
    • Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for Buffy, then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that the subject term is "Buffy, the vampire slayer (Television program)." Click the subject heading to find more records with this subject.)
  • Revise and refine your searches.
  • Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
  • Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library.

Finding Articles - Multidisciplinary Databases

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Finding Articles - Business

Finding Articles - Education

Finding Articles - Engineering

  • IEEE Xplore
    Electronic access to the full-text of IEEE journals (1998-current) except IEEE Spectrum, IEEE Potentials, and Proceedings of the IEEE. Journals and proceedings not subscribed to may only be searched for citations. The University Library also has older issues on microfiche. IET titles are indexed but include no links to full-text.
  • ASCE Research Library
    ASCE's electronic retrieval service to its full-text journal articles and conference proceedings. Includes backfiles to 1983 for journals and 1996 for proceedings.
  • ASME Transactions Journals
    22 full-text mechanical engineering databases. Twelve of the journals are also indexed in EBSCO's Academic Search Complete.
  • ICE (Institution of Civil Engineers) Proceedings
    Access only to fulltext for the Proceedings. Coverage varies by title, approximately 2001-current.

Finding Articles - Health Sciences

Finding Articles - Humanities

  • JSTOR
    A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline. USA subscribes to the JSTOR collections listed below.
  • Project MUSE - Standard Collection
  • MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
    detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.

Finding Articles - Sciences

  • ScienceDirect
    Full-text journals available 1995 to current.
  • Wiley Online Library
    Access is to 1997 to current. Backfiles available for the Psychology, Business & Management, Biotechnology, Biochemistry & Biophysics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences collections.
  • SciFinder Scholar
    Register first through the link below. For USA faculty and students only. USA has only 3 simultaneous users, shared with 5 other schools.
  • SpringerLink
    Full-text access to 1,961 journals, 1997-current. Also contains a collection of over 29,000 electronic books from Springer Publishing for the years 2005 to 2011. Sort your results by date so that the books we have access to will appear first. You can also tell if a book is part of our collection if the square to the left of the title is green.
  • GreenFILE (EBSCO)
    Covers the human impact on the environment.

Finding Articles - Social Sciences

My Profile

Profile Image
Ellen Wilson
Logo - Google Talk
Contact Info
Marx Library 250
251-460-6045
Send Email
Job title:
Instructional Services Librarian
My favorite books are:
Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, Emotionally Weird, A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again, Franny and Zooey, Imogene's Antlers
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip