This is the "Finding Scholarly Sources" page of the "EH 105: Honors Composition (Guzy)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EH 105: Honors Composition (Guzy)  

Library resources for students in Dr. Guzy's fall 2011 section of Honors Composition
Last Updated: Nov 9, 2011 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/eh105-guzy Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Scholarly Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guides

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
by Ellen Wilson - Last Updated Jun 16, 2011
164 views this year
Finding Full Text Articles
by Ellen Wilson - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
23 views this year
Peer-Review: What is It?
by Elizabeth Rugan - Last Updated Jan 31, 2011
A guide to understanding peer-review and how to find peer-reviewed sources at the University Library
94 views this year
Basic Guide to SOUTHcat
by Ellen Wilson - Last Updated Aug 21, 2012
SOUTHcat is the catalog of the libraries at the University of South Alabama. It contains records for the books, electronic books, journals, government documents, CDs, DVDs, and other media items held by the libraries.
5 views this year

Finding Articles

  • MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
    detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
  • JSTOR
    A collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.
  • Periodicals Archive Online
    Backfiles for periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
 

Finding Books

To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.

  • Catalog tips and tricks:
    • Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("Harry Potter")
    • Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its variants (hero? finds hero, heroine, heroism...)
    • Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for Buffy, then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that the subject term is "Buffy, the vampire slayer (Television program)." Click the subject heading to find more records with this subject.)
  • Revise and refine your searches.
  • Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
  • Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library.
 

Search Google Books

Part of Google's library-scanning project. Only books in the public domain are shown in full text. Others may have just a citation or show selected pages from the book. Remember, you can check SOUTHcat to see if we have a book you find in Google Books if the full text is not available.




Guide Author

Profile Image
Ellen Wilson
Contact Info
University Library 250
251-460-6045
Send Email
Job title:
Instructional Services Librarian
My favorite books are:
Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, Emotionally Weird, A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again, Franny and Zooey, Imogene's Antlers
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip