Federal Depository Library

The University of South Alabama Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
ABOUT OUR DEPARTMENT
AIDS/HIV
- AIDS.gov
- AIDS.gov @ Twitter
- AIDS.gov Blog
- AIDS/HIV Nutrition and Health Issues @ Nutrition.govNutrition.gov provides easy access to the best food and nutrition information from across the federal government. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.
- AIDSinfo.net
- Beating AIDS @ America.gov
- HIV Wasting SyndromeHIV Wasting Syndrome is a weight loss of at least 10 percent with more than 30 days of either diarrhea or weakness and fever
- Mouth Problems and HIV @ NIDCR
- Safe Food and Water @ CDC
- You Can Prevent Cryptosporidiosis @ CDC
- CDC Vital Signs HIV Testing in the United StatesCDC Vital Signs offers recent data on the important health topics of key diseases, conditions, or risk factors. Data is gathered from CDC's national monitoring systems to show progress in important areas of public health, and the ways people can increase their health, prevent or control disease.
Addictions
- Methamphetamine Abuse and Addiction @ NIDAThe abuse of methamphetamine - a potent and highly addictive psychostimulant - is a very serious problem in the United States. Initially limited to Hawaii and western parts of the country, methamphetamine abuse continues to spread eastward, with rural and urban areas everywhere increasingly affected. According to one national survey, approximately 10 million people in the United States have tried methamphetamine at least once.
- National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)NIDA's mission is to lead the Nation in bringing the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction.
- Nicotine Addiction and other Tobacco Use
- Principles of Drug Addiction Treatment: A Research Based Guide (Second Edition)
- Recovery Month.govThe Recovery Month Web site aims to promote the societal benefits of alcohol and drug use disorder treatment, laud the contributions of treatment providers, and promote the message that recovery from alcohol and drug disorders in all its forms is possible.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
- The Science of Addiction @ LOC
Aging
- Administration on Aging @ Department of Health and Human Services
- AgingStats.gov
- Health Aging @ CDC
- Health Aging @ Womenshealth.govWomen are living longer than ever before. A woman who is 65 today can expect to live, on average, another 19 years to age 84. Yet, the aging process begins long before a woman reaches her senior years. A healthy lifestyle at all stages of life will help you to stay active, healthy, and productive as you age.
- National Institute on Aging (NIA)
- NIH Senior Health
- Report of the Taskforce on the Aging of the American WorkforceFebruary 2008, In recognition of the challenges that lie ahead, as well as the opportunities, an interagency effort was launched in May 2006 to focus on the aging of the American workforce and the impact of this demographic change.
- Special Committee on Aging @ United States Senate
Alzheimer's Disease
- ADEAR Center @ NISThe Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral (ADEAR) Center Web site will help you find current, comprehensive Alzheimer's disease (AD) information and resources from the National Institute on Aging (NIA).
- Alzheimer's Disease @ CDC
- Alzheimer's Disease @ MedlinePlusAlzheimer's disease (AD) is the most common form of dementia among older people. Dementia is a brain disorder that seriously affects a person's ability to carry out daily activities.
- Alzheimer's Disease Fact Sheet
- NINDS Alzheimer's Disease Information PageAlzheimer's disease (AD) is an age-related, non-reversible brain disorder that develops over a period of years. Initially, people experience memory loss and confusion, which may be mistaken for the kinds of memory changes that are sometimes associated with normal aging.
Biology/Bioethics/Bioresearch
- Bioethics BlogThis is a space for the members and staff of the Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues to communicate with the public about the work of the commission and to discuss important issues in bioethics.
- Bioethics Resources on the WebBioethics Resources on the Web provides a compilation of web links to information of potential use and interest to diverse audiences—biomedical and behavioral researchers, health care professionals, research participants, patients and patient advocates, students and faculty in different disciplines, and the general public.
- Bioethics Resources on the Web @ NIHBioethics Resources on the Web provides a compilation of web links to information of potential use and interest to diverse audiences—biomedical and behavioral researchers, health care professionals, research participants, patients and patient advocates, students and faculty in different disciplines, and the general public.
- Bioethics.govThe Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues
- Bioresearch Monitoring @ FDA
- Bioresearch Monitoring Information System
- Bioresearch Monitoring Information System (BMIS)
- DNA.govProviding funding, training and assistance to ensure that forensic DNA reaches its full potential to solve crimes, protect the innocent and identify missing persons.
- Human Genome Project Information
- Medical Examiners, Coroners, and Biologic Terrorism A Guidebook for Surveillance and Case Management
- National Centers for Systems Biology
- National Human Genome Research Institute
- National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
- Online Bioethics Resources @ Genome.gov
- Online Mendalian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)
- Science.gov
Cancer
- Cancer.gov Clinical Trials
- National Cancer Institute
- Breast Cancer @ NCIDefinition of breast cancer: Cancer that forms in tissues of the breast, usually the ducts (tubes that carry milk to the nipple) and lobules (glands that make milk). It occurs in both men and women, although male breast cancer is rare.
- Cancer Prevention and Control @ CDCAs a leader in nationwide efforts to ease the burden of cancer, CDC works with national cancer organizations, state health agencies, and other key groups to develop, implement, and promote effective strategies for preventing and controlling cancer.
Children
- National Institute of Child Health and Human Development Information Clearinghouse (NICHD)The NICHD was initially established to investigate the broad aspects of human development as a means of understanding developmental disabilities, including intellectual and developmental disabilities, and the events that occur during pregnancy. Today, the Institute conducts and supports research on all stages of human development, from preconception to adulthood, to better understand the health of children, adults, families, and communities.
- 20 Tips to Prevent Medical Errors in Children
- Emergency Medical Services for Children
Cold/Flu/Virus
Dental
- Dental Health @ Medlineplus.gov
- Dentist @ Occupational Outlook Handbook
- National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)The mission of the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) is to improve oral, dental and craniofacial health through research, research training, and the dissemination of health information.
Diabetes
- Diabetes Public Health Resource @ CDCCDC's Division of Diabetes Translation translates diabetes research into daily practice to understand the impact of the disease, influence health outcomes, and improve access to quality health care.
- National Diabetes Information ClearinghouseThe National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse (NDIC) is an information dissemination service of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK). The NIDDK is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), which is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Diseases & Disorders
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- National Digestive Diseases Information ClearinghouseThe National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse (NDDIC) is an information dissemination service of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK). The NIDDK is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), which is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- National Institute Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases Information ClearinghouseThe mission of the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases is to support research into the causes, treatment, and prevention of arthritis and musculoskeletal and skin diseases; the training of basic and clinical scientists to carry out this research; and the dissemination of information on research progress in these diseases.
- National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
- National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)The mission of NINDS is to reduce the burden of neurological disease - a burden borne by every age group, by every segment of society, by people all over the world.
- National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) is one of the Institutes that comprise the National Institutes of Health (NIH). NIH is the Federal government's focal point for the support of biomedical research.
- Office of Rare Diseases Research
Drugs
- Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equilivance Evaluations (Orange Book)The Orange Book data files are current through May 2010. Every effort has been made to prevent errors and discrepancies in the Approved Drug Products data files.
- Clinical Investigator Inspection List
- DailyMed: Current Medication InformationDailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
- Dissolution Methods
- Drug Firm Annual Registration Status
- Drug Information for Healthcare Providers @ Food and Drug Administration
- Drug Information for Industry @ Food and Drug Administration
- Drug Resources @ Food and Drug Administration
- Drugs @ Food and Drug Administration
- FDA Acronyms and Abbreviations
- Inactive Ingredient Search for Approved Drug Products
- National Drug Code Directory @ FDAThe Drug Listing Act of 1972 requires registered drug establishments to provide the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) with a current list of all drugs manufactured, prepared, propagated, compounded, or processed by it for commercial distribution. (See Section 510 of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (Act) (21 U.S.C. § 360)).
Eye, Ear, Nose & Throat
- National Eye InstituteThe goal of NEHEP is to ensure that vision is a health priority by translating eye and vision research into public and professional education programs. NEHEP supports collaboration among eye health professionals, healthcare providers, patients, and the public.
General
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
- Clinical Trials.gov
- FMCSA Medical Programs @ U.S. Department of TransportationThe mission of the Office of Medical Programs is to promote the safety of America's roadways through the promulgation and implementation of medical regulations, guidelines and policies that ensure commercial motor vehicle drivers engaged in interstate commerce are physically qualified to do so.
- Health Information Privacy @ HHSThe Office for Civil Rights enforces the HIPAA Privacy Rule, which protects the privacy of individually identifiable health information; the HIPAA Security Rule, which sets national standards for the security of electronic protected health information; and the confidentiality provisions of the Patient Safety Rule, which protect identifiable information being used to analyze patient safety events and improve patient safety.
- Healthcare 411
- Healthfinder.gov
- Indian Health Service
- Medical Counter Measures.gov
- Medical Encyclopedia @ MedlinePlus.gov
- Medical Information for Americans Abroad
- Medicare.gov
- MedlinePlus.gov
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
- National Center for Health Statistics
- National Center on Minority Health and Health DisparitiesThe mission of the National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD) is to promote minority health and to lead, coordinate, support, and assess the NIH effort to reduce and ultimately eliminate health disparities. In this effort NCMHD will conduct and support basic, clinical, social, and behavioral research, promote research infrastructure and training, foster emerging programs, disseminate information, and reach out to minority and other health disparity communities.
- National Health Information CenterThe National Health Information Center (NHIC) is a health information referral service. NHIC puts health professionals and consumers who have health questions in touch with those organizations that are best able to provide answers. NHIC was established in 1979 by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP), Office of Public Health and Science, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)The mission of the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) is to support research that increases understanding of life processes and lays the foundation for advances in disease diagnosis, treatment and prevention.
- National Library of Medicine
- National Network of Libraries of Medicine
- PubMed.gov
Mental Health
- National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.
Nursing
- National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)The mission of NINR is to promote and improve the health of individuals,families, communities, and populations. NINR supports and conducts clinical and basic research and research training on health and illness acrossthe lifespan. The research focus encompasses health promotion and disease prevention, quality of life, health disparities, and end-of-life.
Government Documents |
Subjects: Government Documents, Alabama Documents, Legal Reference, Social Networking Technologies, Web 2.0 Job title: Reference & Electronic Resources Government Documents Librarian |



Submit
Loading...
