Federal Depository Library

The University of South Alabama Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
ABOUT OUR DEPARTMENT
Conservation
- A Framework for Categorizing the Relative Vulnerability of Threatened and Endangered Species to Climate Change (2009) (Report)This report describes an evaluative framework that may be used to categorize the relative vulnerability of species to climate change.
- Administrative and Support and Waste Management and Remediation Services (Report)The Administrative and Support and Waste Management and Remediation Services sector (sector 56) of the 1997 Economic Census comprises establishments performing routine support activities for the day-to-day operations of other organizations. These essential activities are often undertaken in-house by establishments in many sectors of the economy.
- Advisory Council on Historic PreservationThe mission of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation is to promote the preservation, enhancement, and productive use of our Nation's historic resources, and advise the President and Congress on national historic preservation policy.
- America's Wetlands @ EPAWelcome to "America's Wetlands." This site will give you a better understanding of the rich variety of wetlands, their importance, how they are threatened, and what can be done to conserve them for future generations.
- An Ax to Grind: A Practical Ax Manual
- Conservation and REcycling @ USA.govOfficial information and services from the U.S. government
- Conservation Library Bird Publications @ FWS
- Cooperative Conservation
- Endangered Species Program @ FWSThe number of threatened and endangered species in the U.S. is always changing.
- Energy and Energy Conservation @ Science.gov
- Environment and Conservation @ U.S. State DepartmentAn expanding global population, rapid conversion of critical habitat to other uses, and the spread of invasive species to non-native habitats pose a serious threat to the world's natural resources and to all of us who depend on them for food, fuel, shelter and medicine. Policies that distort markets and provide incentives for unsustainable development intensify the problem.
- Great American Outdoors @ DOIPresident Barack Obama signed a Presidential Memorandum today establishing the America’s Great Outdoors Initiative to promote and support innovative community-level efforts to conserve outdoor spaces and to reconnect Americans to the outdoors. The President spoke before leaders representing the conservation, farming, ranching, sporting, recreation, forestry, private industry, local parks and academia communities from all 53 states and territories.
- National Centers for Environmental Prediction @ NOAABetty Petersen Memorial Library is a branch of the NOAA Central Library jointly funded by the National Centers for Environmental Prediction and NESDIS Center for Satellite Applications and Research. The library contains a specialized meteorological and oceanographic collection of about 5,000 volumes.
- National Centers for Environmental Protection Strategic Plan 2009-2013 (Report)“From the Sun to the Sea…Where America’s Climate, Weather, Ocean and Space Weather Services Begin”
- Natural Resources Conservation Service @ USDAHelping people helping the land.
- NOAA Fisheries ServiceWelcome to NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service (NOAA Fisheries Service). NOAA Fisheries Service is dedicated to the stewardship of living marine resources through science-based conservation and management, and the promotion of healthy ecosystems.
- Plant Conservation Alliance @ NPSThe PCA is a consortium of ten federal government Member agencies and over 225 non-federal Cooperators representing various disciplines within the conservation field: biologists, botanists, habitat preservationists, horticulturists, resources management consultants, soil scientists, special interest clubs, non-profit organizations, concerned citizens, nature lovers, and gardeners.
- Protecting Historic Properties: A Citizen's Guide to Section 106 ReviewTh is guide from the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP), the agency charged with historic preservation leadership within federal government, explains how your voice can be heard.
- Recreation on Federal Lands
- Section 106 Archaeology GuidanceThe Advisory Council on Historic Preservation’s Section 106 Archaeology Guidance is designed to assist federal agencies in making effective management decisions about archaeological resources in completing the requirements of Section 106 of the National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA) (www.achp.gov/nhpa.html) [16 U.S.C. § 470f] and its implementing regulations, “Protection of Historic Properties” [36 CFR part 800] (www.achp.gov/regs-rev04.pdf).
- Soil Stabilizers on Universally Accessible TrailsThe Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG) state that ground and floor surfaces should be firm, stable, and slip-resistant.
- Superfund Sites Where You LiveA Superfund site is an uncontrolled or abandoned place where hazardous waste is located, possibly affecting local ecosystems or people. Sites are listed on the National Priorities List (NPL) upon completion of Hazard Ranking System (HRS) screening, public solicitation of comments about the proposed site, and after all comments have been addressed.
- U.S. Department of InteriorThe U.S. Department of the Interior protects America’s natural resources and heritage, honors our cultures and tribal communities, and supplies the energy to power our future.
- U.S. Department of Interior @ FacebookSecretary Salazar
- U.S. Department of Interior @ Flickr
- U.S. Department of Interior @ YouTube
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife ServiceThe U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is a bureau within the Department of the Interior. Our mission is to work with others to conserve, protect and enhance fish, wildlife and plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people.
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service @ Facebook
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service @ Podcast
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service @ RSS
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service @ Twitter@USFWSHQ
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service @ Vidcast
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service @ Webcam
- U.S. Forestry Service
- U.S. Global Change Research ProgramHelping to understand, assess and predict global change.
- Watersheds @ EPA
Environment: General
- American Indian Tribal Portal @ EPAThe EPA Tribal Portal was created as a gateway to EPA environmental information specifically related to tribal governments, such as environmental policies, practices and laws.
- Bureau of Land Management
- Bureau of Land Management @ Facebook
- Bureau of Land Management @ RSS
- Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis CenterThe Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center (CDIAC) is the primary climate-change data and information analysis center of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). CDIAC is located at DOE's Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) and includes the World Data Center for Atmospheric Trace Gases.
- Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis CenterThe Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center (CDIAC) is the primary climate-change data and information analysis center of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). CDIAC is located at DOE's Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) and includes the World Data Center for Atmospheric Trace Gases.
- Clean Air Markets - Data and Maps @ EPA
- Climate Change @ EPAClimate change is a problem that is affecting people and the environment. Greater energy efficiency and new technologies hold promise for reducing greenhouse gases and solving this global challenge. EPA's website provides information on climate change for communities, individuals, businesses, states, localities and governments.
- Council of Environmental Quality
- Council on Environmental Quality @ Whitehouse
- Design for the Environment @ EPADesign for the Environment allows manufacturers to put the DfE label on household and commercial products, such as cleaners and detergents, that meet stringent criteria for human and environmental health. Using these products can protect your family's health and the environment.
- Earth and Environment News @ National Science Foundation
- Emissions of Greenhouse Gases in the United States (Report)The EIA is pleased to make previous editions of the annual Emissions of Greenhouse Gases in the United States report available at this site. Data users should note that when estimation methods are changed, data in the newest report are adjusted back through time to account for the new methodology. Therefore, the most recent report should be used for data analysis.
- Enviornment and Natural Resources @ Department of JusticeThe Environment and Natural Resources Division of the Department of Justice handles environmental and natural resources litigation on behalf of the United States.
- Envirofacts @ EPA
- Enviromapper @ EPAWelcome to EnviroMapper for Envirofacts, a single point of access to select U.S. EPA environmental data. This Web site provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States.
- Environment of the United States @ National AtlasRecent public opinion polls indicate that Americans strongly support clean air, water, and land - our shared environment. It was not always so. In fact, environmental concern is a fairly recent phenomena in American history, initially expressed by groups of outdoor enthusiasts and preservationist in the past 150 years.
- Environment, Energy and Agriculture @ USA.govOfficial information and services from the U.S. government.
- Environment: Office of the United States Trade RepresentativeUSTR's Office of Environment and Natural Resources (ENR) has broad responsibilities to leverage trade negotiations and relationships to pursue environmental achievements.
- Environmental @ USDA
- Environmental Education for KidsWelcome to "EEK!" - brought to you by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources. This electronic magazine is for kids in grades 4-8. Surf around and learn more about the great outdoors.
- Environmental Health @ CDC
- Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory @ DOEMSL is funded by DOE's Office of Biological Research, which supports world-class research in the biological, chemical, and environmental sciences to provide innovative solutions to the nation's environmental challenges as well as those related to energy production.
- Environmental Quality Statistics @ DOEThis page provides access to the statistical tables that appear in "Part III. Environmental Data and Trends" of Environmental Quality, the annual report of the Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ). Most of the tables at this site have been updated since the publication of the last annual report (The 1997 Report of the Council on Environmental Quality).
- Environmental Regulations @ Business.govThe U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and state environmental agencies regulate the impact of businesses on the environment. The EPA develops and enforces regulations that implement environmental laws enacted by Congress. Likewise, state agencies enforce regulations that implement laws enacted by the state legislature.
- Global Change Master Directory @ NASA
- Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO) @ EPAHERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public. EPA uses risk assessments to characterize the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystem from pollutants and chemicals in the environment.
- Indoor Air Quality of Homes @ EPAIndoor pollution sources that release gases or particles into the air are the primary cause of indoor air quality problems in homes. Inadequate ventilation can increase indoor pollutant levels by not bringing in enough outdoor air to dilute emissions from indoor sources and by not carrying indoor air pollutants out of the home. High temperature and humidity levels can also increase concentrations of some pollutants.
- Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) in the United States @ EPAThis fact sheet is the latest publication describing the national waste stream based on data collected from 1960 through 2008. It contains information on the benefits of recycling, as well as data on waste generation, recycling, and disposal. It's also accompanied by data tables that present detailed data that is produced each year. Aso included is a summary of our methodology for developing this data.
- National Centers for Environmental Prediction @ NOAABetty Petersen Memorial Library is a branch of the NOAA Central Library jointly funded by the National Centers for Environmental Prediction and NESDIS Center for Satellite Applications and Research. The library contains a specialized meteorological and oceanographic collection of about 5,000 volumes.
- National Environmental Methods IndexThe Alliance for Coastal Technologies (ACT) is a NOAA-funded partnership of research institutions, resource managers, and private sector companies dedicated to fostering the development and adoption of effective and reliable sensors and platforms.
- National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
- National Reponse TeamWelcome to the U.S. National Response Team Website - providing technical assistance, resources and coordination on preparedness, planning, response and recovery activities for emergencies involving hazardous substances, pollutants and contaminants, hazmat, oil, and weapons of mass destruction in natural and technological disasters and other environmental incidents of national significance.
- National Water Quality Inventory Report to CongressThe National Water Quality Inventory Report to Congress (305(b) report) is the primary vehicle for informing Congress and the public about general water quality conditions in the United States. This document characterizes our water quality, identifies widespread water quality problems of national significance, and describes various programs implemented to restore and protect our waters.
- NOLA EnvironmentalThis site has been set up to share with the public the efforts being made by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and other federal and state agencies in south Louisiana regarding the environmental compliance for proposed federal and state Hurricane Risk Reduction Projects.
- Office of Inspector General @ EPACatalyst for Improving the Environment
- Patuxent--Bird Population Studies @ USGS
- Planning, Environment & Realty @ Federal Highway AdministrationTransportation planning and project development must reflect the desires of communities, and take into account the impacts on both the natural and human environments. Transportation projects are closely looked at to see how they might impact the community, the natural environment, and our health and welfare.
- Recycling @ EPA
- Risk, Government Programs and the Environment (Report)Nearly all farm business ventures involve financial risk. In some instances, private and public tools used to manage financial risks in agriculture may influence farmers’ production
decisions. - Scientific Assessment of the Effects of Global Change on the United States (Report)About The Scientific Assessment:
This national scientific assessment integrates, evaluates, and interprets the findings of the U.S. Climate Change Science Program (CCSP) and draws from and synthesizes findings from previous assessments of the science, including CCSP Synthesis and Assessment Products and reports by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). - Sector Facility Indexing Project ArchiveWelcome to the Sector Facility Indexing Project (SFIP) Archive home page. The Sector Facility Indexing Project was retired in December of 2004. Most of the information found in SFIP can now be obtained in EPA's Enforcement Compliance History Online (ECHO).
- U.S. Environmental Protection AgencyThe mission of EPA is to protect human health and to safeguard the natural environment -- air, water and land -- upon which life depends.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency @ Podcasts
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency @ RSS
- U.S. Geological ServeyAs an unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water, we are dedicated to the timely, relevant, and impartial study of the landscape, our natural resources, and the natural hazards that threaten us. Learn more about our goals and priorities for the coming decade in our Science Strategy.
- U.S. Senate Committee on Environment & Public Works
- Water Use in the United States @ USGS
- Whitehouse Council on Environmental Quality
- Resources on Oil Spills, Response, and Restoration A Selected Bibliography
Energy
- 2002 Economic Census Geographic Area Series Mining
- Advanced Research Projects - EnergyRecognizing the need to reevaluate the way the United States spurs innovation, the National Academies released a 2006 report, “Rising Above the Gathering Storm”, that included the recommendation to establish an Advanced Research Projects Agency—Energy (ARPA-E) within the Department of Energy (DOE).
- Annual Energy Review (AER)The Annual Energy Review (AER) is the U.S. Energy Information Administration’s primary report of historical annual energy statistics. For many series, data begin with the year 1949. Included are data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, international energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators; and data unit conversion tables. The report is also released in print.
- Archive Listing of Annual Energy Outlook Forecasts & Related Products
- Building Energy Codes @ DOE
- Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation and EnforcementThe Bureau is comprised of two major programs: Offshore Energy and Minerals Management and Minerals Revenue Management. The Offshore program, which manages the mineral resources on the OCS, is comprised of three regions: Alaska, Gulf of Mexico, and the Pacific. The Minerals Revenue Management program is headquartered in Washington, D.C., but operationally based in Denver, Colorado.
- Coal Publications
- Commercial Nuclear Power
- Conservation of Energy @ NASAThe conservation of energy is a fundamental concept of physics along with the conservation of mass and the conservation of momentum. Within some problem domain, the amount of energy remains constant and energy is neither created nor destroyed. Energy can be converted from one form to another (potential energy can be converted to kinetic energy) but the total energy within the domain remains fixed.
- Consumption, Price, and Expenditure Estimates State Energy Data System (SEDS)
- Cost and Quality of Fuels for Electric Plants 2007 - 2008 EditionThe Cost and Quality of Fuels for Electric Plants 2007 and 2008 is prepared by the Electric Power Division; Office of Coal, Nuclear, Electric and Alternate Fuels (CNEAF); U. S. Energy Information Administration (EIA); U.S. Department of Energy.
- Department of Energy Information BridgeThe Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to over 230,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees. Legacy documents are added as they become available in electronic format.
- Electric Power Annual
- Energy and Energy Conservation @ Science.gov
- Energy and Environment @ Whitehouse.govFor decades it has been clear that the way Americans produce and consume energy is not sustainable. Our addiction to foreign oil and fossil fuels puts our economy, our national security and our environment at risk.
- Energy Emissions Data @ EIA
- Energy Savers @ DOE
- Environment, Energy and Agriculture @ USA.govOfficial information and services from the U.S. government.
- Foreign Direct Investment in U.S. Energy 2006This report provides an assessment of foreign ownership of energy assets in the United States. Section 657, Subpart 8 of the U.S. Department of Energy Organization Act (Public Law 95-91) requires an annual report to Congress which presents: “a summary of activities in the United States by companies which are foreign owned or controlled and which own or control United States energy sources and supplies ….”
- International Energy Outlook 2010The International Energy Outlook 2010 (IEO2010) presents an assessment by the Energy Information Administration (EIA) of the outlook for international energy markets through 2035.
- Monthly Energy Review (MER)The Monthly Energy Review (MER) is the U.S. Energy Information Administration’s primary report of recent energy statistics. Included are total energy production, consumption, and trade; energy prices; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, and international petroleum; carbon dioxide emissions; and data unit conversions.
- Natural Gas Publications
- Office of Environmental Management @ DOEThe mission of the Office of Environmental Management (EM) is to complete the safe cleanup of the environmental legacy brought about from five decades of nuclear weapons development and government-sponsored nuclear energy research.
- Petroleum Supply MonthlySupply and disposition of crude oil and petroleum products on a national and regional level. The data series describe production, imports and exports, movements and inventories. PDF and CSV files are released first and Petroleum Navigator HTML files are released later on the same day.
- Short-Term Energy Outlook
- U.S. Crude Oil, Natural Gas, and Natural Gas Liquids Reserves Historical
Health
- Acid Rain Program Progress Reports @ EPA
- Air Trends @ EPA
- AIRNow Quality IndexThe Air Quality Index (AQI) is an index for reporting daily air quality. It tells you how clean or polluted your outdoor air is, and what associated health effects might be a concern for you.
- Atlas of America's Polluted Waters @ EPA
- Energy Star
- Environmental Health @ CDC
- Food Environment Atlas
- Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO) @ EPAHERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public. EPA uses risk assessments to characterize the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystem from pollutants and chemicals in the environment.
- Human Health @ USGSPublic health problems caused by environmental contamination and emerging infectious diseases are a growing concern worldwide.
- National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
- Office of Health, Safety and SecurityThe Office of Health, Safety and Security (HSS) was created to bring the vital Department of Energy (DOE) corporate functions of health, safety, environment, and security together under one office.
- Toxic Release Inventory (TRI) Program @ EPAThe Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program compiles the TRI data on toxic chemical releases and waste management activities reported annually by certain industries as well as federal facilities and makes it available through downloadable files and several data access tools.
- HAZMAT Modeling Products for Spill Response and Planning
- CleanGredientsAn online database of cleaning product ingredient chemicals, providing verified information about the environmental and human health attributes of listed ingredients. CleanGredients®:
Ocean/Sea/Water
- America's Wetlands @ EPAWelcome to "America's Wetlands." This site will give you a better understanding of the rich variety of wetlands, their importance, how they are threatened, and what can be done to conserve them for future generations.
- Atlas of America's Polluted Waters @ EPA
- Contaminants in Aquatic Habitats at Hazardous Waste Sites (Report) (Dec 1996)This document reviews published literature on mercury chemistry, bioaccumulation and toxicity, and is intended to serve as guidance for NOAA Coastal Resource Coordinators in their work with EPA on hazardous waste sites.
- Coral Reef Conservation Program @ NOAA
- Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) Pollutant Loading Tool @ EPAThe Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) Pollutant Loading Tool is a new tool designed to help you determine who is discharging, what pollutants they are discharging and how much, and where they are discharging. The tool calculates pollutant loadings from permit and DMR data from EPA’s Permit Compliance System (PCS) and Integrated Compliance Information System for the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (ICIS-NPDES).
- Fish Watch U.S. Seafood Facts @ NOAAFishWatch can help you make informed decisions about the seafood you eat by providing the most accurate and up-to-date information on seafood available in the U.S. FishWatch is brought to you by NOAA Fisheries Service, the U.S. authority on marine fisheries science, conservation, and management.
- Fisheries in the United States (Reports) @ NMFS
- National Coastal Condition Reports @ EPA
- National Estuarine Research Reserve SystemThe National Estuarine Research Reserve System uses its network of living laboratories to help understand and find solutions to crucial issues facing America’s coastal communities.
- National Ocean and Atmospheric Association (NOAA)NOAA is an agency that enriches life through science. Our reach goes from the surface of the sun to the depths of the ocean floor as we work to keep citizens informed of the changing environment around them.
- National Ocean Service @ NOAANOAA's National Ocean Service (NOS) is the nation's premier science agency for oceans and coasts.
- National Oceanographic Data Center @ NOAAThe National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) is one of the national environmental data centers operated by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) of the U.S. Department of Commerce.
- National Public Water Systems Compliance Report @ EPAThis page displays a series of EPA reports about drinking water violations at American's public water system (PWS) beginning in calendar year 1996. Each report also summarizes the annual report prepared by each State about drinking water violations at PWSs within its jurisdiction.
- National Water Quality Inventory Report to CongressThe National Water Quality Inventory Report to Congress (305(b) report) is the primary vehicle for informing Congress and the public about general water quality conditions in the United States. This document characterizes our water quality, identifies widespread water quality problems of national significance, and describes various programs implemented to restore and protect our waters.
- Ocean Explorer @ NOAA
- Turning the Tide on Trash A Learning Guide on Marine Debris
- U.S. Commission on Ocean PolicyOn September 20, 2004, the U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy fulfilled its mandate to submit recommendations for a coordinated and comprehensive national ocean policy to the President and Congress.
- U.S. Drought MonitorOverview of drought conditions in the United States.
- USGS National Water Quality Assessment Data WarehouseThe U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) began its NAWQA (National Water Quality Assessment) program in 1991, systematically collecting chemical, biological, and physical water quality data from 42 study units (basins) across the nation.
- Water Fluoridation and the Environment: Current Perspective in the United States (Report)Evidence of water fluoridation’s effects on plants, animals, and humans is considered based on reviews by scientific groups and individual communities, including Fort Collins, CO, Port Angeles, WA, and Tacoma-Pierce County, WA.
- Water Sense @ EPASave water and protect the environment by choosing WaterSense labeled products in your home and business and taking simple steps to save water each day.
Research
- Reg Stat @ EPAReg Stat is the EPA site of all the activity published by the Agency in the Federal Register covering the period between calendar years 2005-2009. The site offers summary statistics using statistical data in the form of charts, tables and brief summary overviews to inform the public about the types of documents published annually.
Government Documents |
Subjects: Government Documents, Alabama Documents, Legal Reference, Social Networking Technologies, Web 2.0 Job title: Reference & Electronic Resources Government Documents Librarian |



Loading...
