Federal Depository Library

The University of South Alabama Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1968.
Elementary Education Information
- Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government (3-5)
- Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government (K-2)
- Coloring Books Published by Federal Government Agencies (Evergreen State College)This is a listing of coloring books published by Federal government agencies..a great way for kids to learn about the world around them through color. Click on the link for the agency for contact information and availability of print coloring books.
- Conservation Education Website @ US Forestry ServiceThe Conservation Education program (CE) helps people of all ages understand and appreciate our country's natural resources -- and learn how to conserve those resources for future generations. Through structured educational experiences and activities targeted to varying age groups and populations, conservation education enables people to realize how natural resources and ecosystems affect each other and how resources can be used wisely.
- Directory of Public Elementary and Secondary Education AgenciesThe Directory provides a listing of all public elementary and secondary education agencies in the United States. It also includes summary tables on district size, grade span and student population.
- Discover the Forest @ U.S. Forestry ServiceNature gives teens the ability to explore, use their imagination, discover new animals and plants, and engage in adventurous play. Being in nature frees them from their crazy, scheduled days and offers the ability to get lost in something totally unmanaged, unexpected and utterly surprising.
- Education Themes @ USDAUse these educator resources to learn more about these issues, and how you can integrate them in your classrooms and programs.
- Energy Kids @ U.S. Energy Information Administration
- Environmental Kids Club @ EPA
- For Students and Kids @ Department of Energy
- Hydrogen @ Department of EnergyLike electricity, hydrogen is a secondary source of energy. It stores and carries energy produced from other resources (fossil fuels, water, and biomass).
- Internet Access in U.S. Public Schools and Classrooms: 1994-2003 (Report)This report presents 10 years of data from 1994 to 2003 on Internet access in U.S. public schools by school characteristics. It provides trend analysis on the percent of public schools and instructional rooms with Internet access and on the ratio of students to instructional computers with Internet access.
- Just for Kids @ US Forestry Service/Pacific Northwest Research Station
- Kids Page @ FBI
- Looking Down an Oil Well @ Department of EnergyOIL — Ever wonder what oil looks like underground, down deep, hundreds or thousands of feet below the surface, buried under millions of tons of rock and dirt?
- NASA for Students Grades K-4
- NASA Kid's Club
- Office of Elementary and Secondary EducationThe mission of the Office of Elementary and Secondary Education is to promote academic excellence, enhance educational opportunities and equity for all of America's children and families, and to improve the quality of teaching and learning by providing leadership, technical assistance and financial support.
- Overview of Public Elementary and Secondary Schools and Districts (Reports)School and Agency Reports give state and national totals from the CCD School and Agency file.
- Particles Matter Physics of High Energy @ Department of Energy
- Public Elementary-Secondary Education Finance Data @ CensusEducation finance data include revenues, expenditures, debt, and assets (cash and security holdings) of elementary and secondary public school systems. Statistics cover school systems in all states, and include the District of Columbia. Data are available in viewable tables and downloadable files.
- Searching for the Building Blocks of Matter @ Department of EnergySearching for the Building Blocks of Matter was an exhibit for the public on the 15th floor of Wilson Hall at Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory. A committee of physicists and Fermilab employees developed the content for the exhibit. This web site includes the text and graphics from that exhibit. The entire text of the exhibit, not graphics, is available in PDF.
- Smokey the Bear @ Facebook
- Smokey the Bear @ Flickr
- Smokey the Bear @ Myspace
- Smokey the Bear @ Twitter
- Smokey the Bear @ US Forestry ServiceOnly you can prevent forest fires.
- Smokey the Bear @ Youtube
- The Elementary GLOBE ProgramElementary GLOBE is designed to introduce students of grades K-4 to the study of Earth System Science (ESS). Elementary GLOBE forms an instructional unit comprised of five modules that address ESS and interrelated subjects including weather, hydrology, phenology, and soils. Each Elementary GLOBE module contains a science-based storybook and classroom learning activities.
- The Terrific Trees @ US Forestry Service
- Using and Saving Energy @ Department of Energy
- Virtual Frog Dissection Kit @ Department of EnergyThis award-winning interactive program is part of the "Whole Frog" project. You can interactively dissect a (digitized) frog named Fluffy, and play the Virtual Frog Builder Game. The interactive Web pages are available in a number of languages.
- EEK! Environmental Education for KidsWelcome to "EEK!" - brought to you by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources. This electronic magazine is for kids in grades 4-8. Surf around and learn more about the great outdoors.
Middle School Education and Information
- Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government (6-8)
- Education Themes @ USDAUse these educator resources to learn more about these issues, and how you can integrate them in your classrooms and programs.
- EPA Student Center
- Internet Access in U.S. Public Schools and Classrooms: 1994-2003 (Report)This report presents 10 years of data from 1994 to 2003 on Internet access in U.S. public schools by school characteristics. It provides trend analysis on the percent of public schools and instructional rooms with Internet access and on the ratio of students to instructional computers with Internet access.
- Middle School Science Stuff @ Department of Energy
- NASA for Students Grades 5-8
- Office of Elementary and Secondary EducationThe mission of the Office of Elementary and Secondary Education is to promote academic excellence, enhance educational opportunities and equity for all of America's children and families, and to improve the quality of teaching and learning by providing leadership, technical assistance and financial support.
- Overview of Public Elementary and Secondary Schools and Districts (Reports)School and Agency Reports give state and national totals from the CCD School and Agency file.
- Public Elementary-Secondary Education Finance Data @ CensusEducation finance data include revenues, expenditures, debt, and assets (cash and security holdings) of elementary and secondary public school systems. Statistics cover school systems in all states, and include the District of Columbia. Data are available in viewable tables and downloadable files.
- The Cool Spot
- USGS Educational Resources For Secondary Grades Middle School and High SchoolThis Web site contains selected USGS educational resources that may be useful to educators in secondary school grades (Grade 7 to Grade 12). Many of these resources can be used directly in the classroom (see Resource Symbols below) or will be useful in classroom lessons or demonstration activities preparation, or as resources for teacher education and curriculum development.
- EEK! Environmental Education for KidsWelcome to "EEK!" - brought to you by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources. This electronic magazine is for kids in grades 4-8. Surf around and learn more about the great outdoors.
High School Education and Information
- Ben's Guide to U.S. Government (9-12)
- Dropout and Completion Rates in the United States: 2006 (Report)This report builds upon a series of National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) reports on high school dropout and completion rates that began in 1988. It presents estimates of rates for 2006 and provides data about trends in dropout and completion rates over the last three decades (1972-2006), including characteristics of dropouts and completers in these years.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 1991(Report)Using CPS data, this 4th annual report to Congress by NCES presents data for 1991 on high school dropout and retention rates. The report also examines high school completion rates. Event, status, and cohort dropout rates will be presented. Dropout trends from the 1960's until present will be examined by race, sex and region.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 1992 (Report)This is the 5th annual dropout report to Congress by NCES. It presents data for 1992 on high school dropout and retention rates along with time series data for the period from 1972 to 1992. A detailed examination of high school completion and graduation rates is presented.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 1993 (Report)High school dropout and retention rates.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 1994 (Report)This report reports high school dropout and graduation rates in the United States.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 1995 (Report)This report, which is the eighth in the series, presents data for 1995 on high school dropout and retention rates, and examines high school completion and graduation rates.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 1996 (Report)This report, the ninth in the series, presents data for 1996 on high school dropout and persistence rates, and examines high school completion and graduation rates. In addition to extending time series data reported in earlier years, this report focuses on the characteristics of high school dropouts and high school completers in 1996.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 1997 (Report)This report presents national data on high school dropout rates and high school completion rates from 1972 to 1997. It also provides state level information for the 1990's. It examines the relationship between student characteristics and the likelihood of dropping out and of completing high school.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 1998 (Report)This report presents national data on high school dropout rates and high school completion rates from 1972 to 1998. It also provides state level information for the 1990's. It examines the relationship between student characteristics and the likelihood of dropping out and of completing high school.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 1999 (Report)This report presents national data on high school dropout rates and high school completion rates from 1972 to 1999. It also provides state level information for the 1990's. Apart from showing basic rates, the report studies the relationship between various individual and family characteristics on one hand, and high school dropout and completion propensity on the other.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 2000 (Report)This report presents national data on high school dropout rates and high school completion rates from 1972 to 2000. It also provides state level information for the 1990's. Apart from showing basic rates, the report studies the relationship between various individual and family characteristics on one hand, and high school dropout and completion propensity on the other.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 2001 (Report)This report is the latest in a series of National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) reports on high school dropout and completion rates that began in 1988. It presents estimates of rates in 2001, and includes time series data on high school dropout and completion rates for the period 1972 through 2001. In addition to extending time series data reported in earlier years, the report examines the characteristics of high school dropouts and high school completers in 2001.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 2002 and 2003 (Report)This report continues the dropout rate report series. The report is based on several sources of data and provides details on high school dropouts and high school completers for 2002 and 2003. Apart from provide characteristics of dropouts and completers in these years, the report also provides information about trends in high school dropout and completion rates going back to the 1970s.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 2004 (Report)This report builds upon a series of National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) reports on high school dropout and completion rates that began in 1988. It presents estimates of rates for 2004, and provides data about trends in dropout and completion rates over the last three decades (1972–2004), including characteristics of dropouts and completers in these years.
- Dropout Rates in the United States: 2005 (Report)This report builds upon a series of National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) reports on high school dropout and completion rates that began in 1988. It presents estimates of rates for 2005, and provides data about trends in dropout and completion rates over the last three decades (1972-2005), including characteristics of dropouts and completers in these years.
- High School Dropout and Completion Rates in the United States: 2007 (Report)This report builds upon a series of National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) reports on high school dropout, completion, and graduation rates that began in 1988. The report includes discussions of many rates used to study how students complete or fail to complete high school. It presents estimates of rates for 2007 and provides data about trends in dropout and completion rates over the last three and a half decades (1972-2007) along with more recent estimates of on-time graduation.
- High School Home @ EPA (No longer updated)This site will inform you about environmental issues and help you protect the environment.
- Internet Access in U.S. Public Schools and Classrooms: 1994-2003 (Report)This report presents 10 years of data from 1994 to 2003 on Internet access in U.S. public schools by school characteristics. It provides trend analysis on the percent of public schools and instructional rooms with Internet access and on the ratio of students to instructional computers with Internet access.
- NASA for Students Grades 9-12
- Overview of Public Elementary and Secondary Schools and Districts (Reports)School and Agency Reports give state and national totals from the CCD School and Agency file.
- Student Aid on the Web
- Student Jobs @ USAJobsYour career in the Federal Government starts here! We offer valuable job experience, training opportunities, excellent benefits, and opportunity for advancement. Whether you are student in high school, college, or graduate school seeking work experience or you are about to graduate and begin your career, consider Federal service!
College/University Education Information
- The Campus Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool
- College.gov
- iLibrary: Federal Student Aid HandbookThe "Federal Student Aid Handbooks" produced by Federal Student Aid for the latest three award years can be accessed from here.
- Students Who Study Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) in Postsecondary Education @ NCESRising concern about America’s ability to maintain its competitive position in the global economy has renewed interest in STEM education. In 2005, for example, three preeminent U.S. scientific groups—the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Medicine—jointly issued a report, Rising Above the Gathering Storm: Energizing and Employing America for a Brighter Economic Future.
Instructor/Parents/Teachers Education Information
- BAM! Body and Mind Teacher's CornerBAM! Body and Mind is a resource for you to incorporate CDC health, safety, and science topics into your classroom. The site also offers your students interactive content to investigate topics for school or for a personal interest.
- Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government: Parents and Teachers
- Energy Kids for Teachers
- EPA Teaching Center
- Parents and Teachers @ NIDAThese materials were developed to inform parents & teachers about the health effects and consequences of drug abuse and addiction.
- Primary Source Sets for Teachers @ Library of CongressSets of selected primary sources on specific topics, available as easy-to-print PDFs. Also, background material and tools to guide student analysis.
- Resources for Parents and Teachers @ FEMA
- State Reports On The Quality Of Teacher Preparation (Reports)Title II of the Higher Education Act requires three annual reports on the quality of teacher preparation. Schools of education are to report to states the pass rates of their graduates on state certification assessments and other program data in April.
- Teacher Resource Center: LInC ProjectsDesigned to demonstrate principles of engaged learning and effective use of technology by K-12 teachers who participated in staff development programs
at Fermilab. - Teachers—preschool, kindergarten, elementary, middle, and secondary
- Teaching Resources from Federal Agencies
General Education Information
- 120 Years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait (Report)This publication contains statistical trends of elementary, secondary, and higher education institutions. Text and charts describe historical shifts in educational attainment, enrollment, staff, degrees and finance.
- Directory of Public Elementary and Secondary Education AgenciesThe Directory provides a listing of all public elementary and secondary education agencies in the United States. It also includes summary tables on district size, grade span and student population.
- Education Resource Organizations DirectoryThe Directory is intended to help you identify and contact organizations that provide information and assistance on a broad range of education-related topics.
- Educational Attainment @ CensusInformation on educational attainment is collected annually.
- ERIC: Education Resources Information CenterERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
- Homeschooling in the U.S.: 1999 (Report)
- Homeschooling in the United States: Trends and Characteristics (Report)
- Kids.gov
- NASA Education
- Office of Science and Education @ NIH
- The Condition of EducationThis website is an integrated collection of the indicators and analyses published in The Condition of Education 2000–2010. Some indicators may have been updated since they appeared in print.
- The U.S. Department of Education
- Students’ Use of Tutoring Services, by Adequate Yearly Progress Status of SchoolThis Statistics in Brief contributes to current research by investigating the use of tutoring services among a nationally representative group of public school students enrolled in grades K–12.
- MyMoney.govMyMoney.gov is the U.S. government's website dedicated to teaching all Americans the basics about financial education. Whether you are buying a home, balancing your checkbook, or investing in your 401(k), the resources on MyMoney.gov can help you maximize your financial decisions.
Reference & Electronic Resources Government Documents Librarian |
Youth
Comments (0)



Loading...
