This is the "Home" page of the "CAS 100: College Success (Diaz)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CAS 100: College Success (Diaz)  

Library resources for the group debate/paper assignment in Mr. Diaz's CAS 100 class, fall 2012
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2012 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/content.php?pid=387030 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Developing a Search Strategy

Before you begin searching, you need to develop a search strategy. Library search tools do not answer questions - they return results based on a search query. This means that you cannot enter a question and expect an answer. Instead, enter key concepts from your research question. Often, you will need to revise your search terms several times to find the one that works best for your topic. You will also need to refine your search. Usually, this means narrowing your search by adding additional terms.

 

OneSearch - Books and Articles (journal, magazine, newspaper)

OneSearch allows you to search the library catalog (SOUTHcat - contains books, government documents, media) and many of our library databases simultanously. This is a very broad search that will result in many, many results. It may be a good starting point.

OneSearch for USA Libraries
Limit Your Results

Academic Search Complete - Articles (journal, magazine, newspaper)

Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database. It is a good starting point for almost any research project. It contains mostly articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Proquest Newspapers - Articles (newspaper)

Proquest Newsstand contains newspaper articles from many pages, going back as far as 1980.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip