HY 457/557: History of Travel and Tourism: Primary Sources

• American Memory
  Drawing on the collections of the Library of Congress, this database provides access to more than 7 million digital items related to the history and culture of the United States
• Making of America- University of Michigan
  A digital library of primary sources with 19th century imprints in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction hosted by Cornell University and University of Michigan. The Michigan site provides access to books published in the U.S. between 1850 and 1870.
• Internet History Sourcebooks Project
  A set of collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts, maps, and articles on a wide variety of historical areas. Organized by geographical area and time period, the site includes links to primary sources from not only the Western world, but Africa and the Islamic and Eastern world as well.
• Making of America- Cornell University
  A digital library of primary sources with 19th century imprints in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction hosted by Cornell University and University of Michigan. The Cornell site provides access to 109 monographs and 22 journals from between 1840 and 1900.
• State Archives Collections Online: Directory of Digital Collections, Virtual Exhibits, and State Memory Projects
  Provides links to a variety of digital collections made available by state archives.
• American Journeys
  Contains eyewitness accounts of Early American exploration and settlement, ranging from Viking accounts from AD1000 to Rocky Mountain settlers' memoirs of the 1800s. Among the 18000 pages of accounts, there is a significant amount of material concerning the Southeast.
• National Security Archive
  A contemporary history research archive at George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act.
• National Archives Digital Vaults
  This site contains a selection of 1200 items from the over 10 billion records held by the National Archives.
• Duke Digital Collections
  Providing sources for national and international subjects, some featured collections include the Emergence of Advertising in America; Ration Coupons on the Home Front (1942-1945); the 50,000 item William Gedney Photographs and Writings Collection; and African American women slave letters.
• VOAHA: The Virtual Oral/Aural History Archive
  Audio recordings from interviews with witnesses to a wide variety of historical events.
• Avalon Project- Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
  Including documents dating back to Ancient Greece, this collection contains documents primarily relevant to law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. Project Diana, a human rights archive, is also located on this site.
• Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
  The Valley project details life in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, from the time of John Brown's Raid through the era of Reconstruction through thousands of pages from letters, diaries, newspapers, census records, and other primary sources.
• Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
  One of the largest digital image databases in the world, this service of the Library of Congress provides access to more than 1 million freely accessible digital images.
• LIFE Photo Archive
  Hosted by Google, the LIFE Photo Archive provides digital access to millions of historical images ranging in date from 1750 to the present.
• New York Public Library Digital Gallery
  Containing over 700,000 digital items, the NYPL Digital Gallery provides free access to a diverse collection of manuscripts, antique maps, vintage photographs, rare prints, and much more.

Primary Sources