- Acts Cited by Popular Names
U.S.C. 2006th ed. v. 31. An alphabetical list of popular and statutory names of Acts of Congress.
- All Law
The Internet's premiere Law Portal
- American Law Sources On-line
This link provides a comprehensive, uniform, and useful compilation of links to freely accessible on-line sources of law for the United States and Canada.
- Be Spacific
Daily updates on information relating to law.
- Code of Federal Regulations
Contains years 1938 - 1995
- Cornell Legal Information Institute
A collection of legal information.
- Court Locator @ uscourts.gov
An interactive map used to find courts in the United States.
- EDGAR @ Securities and Exchange Commission
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations @ FDsys
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis.
- Federal Courts
The three branches of the federal government — legislative, executive, and judicial — operate within a constitutional system known as "checks and balances." This means that although each branch is formally separate from the other two, the Constitution often requires cooperation among the branches. Federal laws, for example, are passed by Congress and signed by the President.
- Federal Register
Volumes 1 - 58 (1936 - 1993)
- Federal Register @ FDsys
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
- Federal Trade Commission
The FTC deals with issues that touch the economic life of every American. It is the only federal agency with both consumer protection and competition jurisdiction in broad sectors of the economy. The FTC pursues vigorous and effective law enforcement; advances consumers’ interests by sharing its expertise with federal and state legislatures and U.S. and international government agencies; develops policy and research tools through hearings, workshops, and conferences.
FedLaw was developed to see if legal resources on the Internet could be a useful and cost-effective research tool for Federal lawyers and other Federal employees. Fedlaw has assembled references of use to people doing Federal legal research and which can be accessed directly through "point and click" hypertext connections.
We provide legal information, lawyer profiles and a community to help you make the best legal decisions.
- Global Legal Monitor
The Global Legal Monitor is an online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from the Global Legal Information Network, official national legal publications, and reliable press sources. You can find previous news by searching the GLM.
- Google Scholar Advanced Search
- Guide to Law Online @ Library of Congress
The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
- HeinOnline (USAID)
- Hieros Gamos
Worldwide Legal Directories
- How our Laws are Made @ Library of Congress
- In Custodia Legis: Law Librarians of Congress Blog
- Jurist @ University of Pittsburgh School of Law
Legal News and Research
- Justia.com Virtual Chase
- Laws and Regulations – General Reference Resources @ USA.gov
- Legal Decision @ GAO
The Comptroller General, head of the Government Accountability Office, issues legal decisions and legal opinions on appropriations law, bid protests, and other issues of federal law. The Comptroller General is also required by statute to report to congressional committees about certain federal vacancies and on major rules proposed by federal agencies. The Office of General Counsel is the GAO office responsible for carrying out these functions and issuing decisions, opinions, and reports.
- Legal Services Corporation
LSC is the single largest provider of civil legal aid for the poor in the nation. Established in 1974, LSC operates as an independent 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation that promotes equal access to justice and provides grants for high-quality civil legal assistance to low-income Americans.
- LexisNexis.com (USAID)
Click on the US Legal tag on the left side of the screen to search for Federal & State Cases, Shepard's Citations, Landmark Cases, Supreme Court Briefs, Federal Statutes, Codes & Regulations, Law Reviews, Legal Reference, Patents and Tax Law
Legal and technology resources for legal professionals
- Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Locator
- The European Library
The European Library searches the content of European national libraries.
- THOMAS @ Library of Congress
THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public.
In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress
- U.S. Code @ Cornell University Law School
This version of the U.S. Code is generated from the most recent official version made available by the US House of Representatives. The listing on the House server provides exact currency information.
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
The mission of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation.
- United States Code
Contains years 1925 - 1988 (includes content up to 1993)
- United States Code Collection
- United States Reports
Volumes 1-542 (1754 - 2004)