This is the "Getting Started" page of the "CJ 390: Drugs and Crime" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CJ 390: Drugs and Crime  

Special topics in Criminal Justice- a close look at the relationship between drugs and crime in America.
Last Updated: Feb 16, 2012 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/cj390 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Course Info

CJ 390: Drugs and Crime

 

Baldwin County Campus Library Resources

Students and faculty members on the Baldwin County campus can request library assistance from the Baldwin County Campus librarian.  Services available are reference and research instruction as well as book retrieval services.  Contact Angela Rand: 251-928-8133 or arand@usouthal.edu .

 

E-books

University of South AL subscribes to NetLibrary e-books. These books can be read on your PC. Click on the title link and search by title.

Cover Art
The Blackwell Companion to Criminology - Colin Sumner (Ed.)
ISBN: 9780470998960
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
Drugs and money : laundering Latin America’s cocaine dollar - Grosse, Robert E.
ISBN: 9780275970420
Money laundering has been around as long as there have been illicit businesses, since criminals have always had to convert their ill-gotten gains into clean financial instruments in order to utilize them in legitimate business. Grosse explores how drug traffickers turn profits from street sales of cocaine and crack into bank accounts, airplanes, securities investments, and other uses. These schemes are both creative and extensive, from shipping suitcases of dollars to Mexico, to buying gold with drug cash in California, to faking the export of clothing from Colombia to Panama. The amounts of money involved are often staggering--hundreds of millions of dollars in most cases (via Amazon).

Cover Art
The Costs of Crime and Justice - Mark Cohen
ISBN: 9780203313145
Covers the Columbine High School shooting and the consequent costs of the crime to the community and families of the victims.

Cover Art
The Probation and Parole Treatment Planner Practice Planners - Bogue, Brad M. Nandi, Anjali. Jongsma, Arthur E., Hoboken, N.J. John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
ISBN: 9780471473985
Explore the treatment planning process. Put together a treatment plan that matches the individual’s treatment needs.

Cover Art
Adolescents and Risk : Making Sense of Adolescent Psychology - Johnson, Patrick B. and Malow-Iroff, Micheline S.
ISBN: 9780313336874

Cover Art
Economic Gangsters : Corruption, Violence, and the Poverty of Nations - Fisman, Raymond and Miguel, Edward
ISBN: 9780691134543
In this surprisingly spry read, authors and economics professors Fisman and Miguel tackle economic development issues in Africa, Asia and Latin America, beginning with the question: after decades of independence and billions in foreign aid, why are so many developing countries still mired in poverty? A big reason, they contend, is corruption. Looking at specific examples, Fisman and Miguel examine various methods and motives of corruption, how agencies counteract it, and what it means with regard to human nature and the fate of nations. Fascinating insights abound: the high correlation between UN diplomats' parking violations and corruption in the home country; the successful public shaming techniques used by Bogata's Mayor Antanas Mockus to reduce criminality; the drastic reduction in road building corruption resulting from Indonesia's simple statement that projects would be audited. Ultimately, Fisman and Miguel conclude that there's not enough verifiable, reproducible results to say whether poverty is intractable and corruption inevitable, or whether poor countries remain poor because they haven't received enough quality aid. Instead, they argue forcefully for more blind trials in economics research to evaluate various development approaches (via Amazon).

Websites

  • National Survey on Drug Use & Health
    National Prevalence Data with Correlates of Substance Use: SAMHSA's National Survey on Drug Use & Health is the primary source of information on the prevalence, patterns, and consequences of alcohol, tobacco, and illegal drug use and abuse in the general U.S. civilian non institutionalized population, age 12 and older. It is currently conducted by SAMHSA's Office of Applied Studies (OAS).
  • PRIDE Surveys
    Pride Surveys was created in 1982 by professors at Georgia State University in Atlanta and Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green. Their purpose was to help local schools measure student alcohol, tobacco and other drug use.
    Pride Surveys now measure behavior on many crucial issues that can affect learning: family, discipline, safety, activities, gangs, and more.
    In 1998 a federal law designated Pride Surveys as an official measurement of adolescent drug use in America.
  • Monitoring the Future
    Monitoring the Future is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults.

    The Monitoring the Future Study has been funded under a series of investigator-initiated competing research grants from the National Institute on Drug Abuse, a part of the National Institutes of Health
  • NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Abstracts Database
    Contains documents, citations, and abstracts for journal articles, books, reports, hearings, studies, bibliographies, and statistical reports.
  • FBI Uniform Crime Reports
    The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet a need for reliable, uniform crime statistics for the nation. In 1930, the FBI was tasked with collecting, publishing, and archiving those statistics. Today, several annual statistical publications, such as the comprehensive Crime in the United States, are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.
  • United Nations Crime and Justice Information Network
    Includes U.N. criminal justice country profiles, U.S. Department of Justice sources, recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions, the “World Criminal Justice Library Network,” foreign and international law, criminological institutes, and libraries.
  • Street Drugs website
    A database of text information and photographs of 'Street Drugs' and frequently abused prescription drugs (via Internet Public Library).
  • National Institute on Drug Abuse
    NIDA's mission is to lead the Nation in bringing the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction.

    This charge has two critical components. The first is the strategic support and conduct of research across a broad range of disciplines. The second is ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention, treatment and policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.
  • National Drug Intelligence Center
    The National Drug Intelligence Center (NDIC) was established by the Department of Defense Appropriations Act, 1993 (Public Law 102-396) signed into law on October 6, 1992. NDIC was established to "coordinate and consolidate drug intelligence from all national security and law enforcement agencies, and produce information regarding the structure, membership, finances, communications, and activities of drug trafficking organizations."
 

Reference titles

The following reference titles can be found in Marx Library's reference collection.

Cover Art
Black's Law Dictionary - Bryan A. Garner and Henry Campbell Black
Call Number: KF 156 .B53 2004
ISBN: 0070307091
Definitions of the terms and phrases of American and English jurisprudence, ancient and modern. Includes multiple meanings and examples of word usages with references to cases and laws.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Criminal Justice - George E. Rush
Call Number: HV 7411 .R87 1994
ISBN: 0070307091
Dictionary of terms on law enforcement, courts, probation, parole, corrections, and related subjects. This dictionary focuses on terms commonly used in criminal justice practice.

Cover Art
National Criminal Justice Thesaurus - U.S. Department of Justice
Call Number: CJ 28.28:
ISBN: 01986546
Contains terms used to index literature in the NCJRS database. Source for finding synonyms and broader, narrower and related terms in the criminal justice field.

Cover Art
Criminal Justice Information: How to Find It, How to Use It - Dennis C. Benamati
Call Number: HV 7419.5 .C75 1998
ISBN: 089774957X
Advice on how to do research, establish connections, find information in the library, locate government and international information, as well as Web sources of interest.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice - Joshua Dressler
Call Number: HV 6017 .E52 2002
ISBN: 002865319X
Includes information on the causes of crime, criminal behavior, crime prevention, institutions of criminal justice

Cover Art
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - Michael J. Hindelang
Tables of data on criminal justice and related topics collected from governmental and private agencies. Also available in electronic version and on the Internet at www.albany.edu/sourcebook/.

My profile

Profile Image
Angela Doucet Rand
Logo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
10 N. Summit St.
Fairhope, AL 36532
251.928.8133
@allonsdanser
Send Email
Job title:
Head of Information Services
 

Tweets

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip