Introduction to the Offender
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014
CJ360 - Introduction to the offender
Students and faculty members on the Baldwin County campus can request library assistance from the Baldwin County Campus librarian. Services available are reference and research instruction as well as book retrieval services. Contact Angela Rand: 251-928-8133 or firstname.lastname@example.org .
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- US Government Printing Office
GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Through FDsys, you are able to:
Search for documents and publications — FDsys provides advanced search capabilities and the ability to refine and narrow your search for quick access to the information you need.
Browse for documents and publications — FDsys offers browsing by collection, Congressional committee, date, and Government author.
Access metadata about documents and publications — FDsys provides information about Government publications in standard XML formats.
Download documents and publications in multiple renditions or file formats.
FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.
- General Reference Center
General Reference Center Gold provides 24-hour access to an integrated set of general interest sources: magazines, newspaper articles, children’s magazines, almanacs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference books and more.
- Hein Online
HeinOnline is an online research product with more than 70 million pages of legal history available in fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,500 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
LexisNexis Academic provides access to legal research sources:
•Full text of articles from law reviews and journals—more than 500 publications
•Federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court Decisions since 1790
•Federal regulations, including The Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Acquisition Regulations and Supplements
•Shepard’s® Citations Service—the leading citator for more than 135 years
•More than 1,500 legal newspapers, magazines, and newsletters
•Tax materials, including IRS Bulletin, IRS regulations, The Tax Lawyer (ABA), The Tax Adviser (AICPA®), and more
•Patents from 1790 forward
•European Union law from the LEX EU law database and international case law from a number of other countries
•Law school directories, including Martindale Hubbell® Law Directory and NALP Directory of Law Schools
- Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
- Points of View Reference Center
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.