This is the "Getting Started" page of the "CJ 320: Modern Police Functions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CJ 320: Modern Police Functions  

Last Updated: Oct 13, 2010 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/cj320usabc Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Course Info

CJ 320: Modern Police Function

 

 

Baldwin County Campus Library Resources

Students and faculty members on the Baldwin County campus can request library assistance from the Baldwin County Campus librarian.  Services available are reference and research instruction as well as book retrieval services.  Contact Angela Rand: 251-928-8133 or arand@usouthal.edu .

 

E-books

University of South AL subscribes to NetLibrary e-books. These books can be read on your PC. Click on the title link and search by title.

Cover Art
The Costs of Crime and Justice - Mark Cohen
ISBN: 9780203313145
Covers the Columbine High School shooting and the consequent costs of the crime to the community and families of the victims.

Cover Art
The Probation and Parole Treatment Planner Practice Planners - Bogue, Brad M. Nandi, Anjali. Jongsma, Arthur E., Hoboken, N.J. John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
ISBN: 9780471473985
Explore the treatment planning process. Put together a treatment plan that matches the individual’s treatment needs.

Websites

  • NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Abstracts Database
    Contains documents, citations, and abstracts for journal articles, books, reports, hearings, studies, bibliographies, and statistical reports.
  • United Nations Crime and Justice Information Network
    Includes U.N. criminal justice country profiles, U.S. Department of Justice sources, recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions, the “World Criminal Justice Library Network,” foreign and international law, criminological institutes, and libraries.
  • Uniform Crime Reports, (1998 to present)
    National crime statistics for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management, including offenses cleared, persons arrested, homicide patterns, and law enforcement personnel.
  • Internet Public Library guide to law enforcement
    In January 2010, the Internet Public Library2 website was launched, merging the collections of resources from the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII) websites. The site is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology, and a consortium of colleges and universities.
 

Reference titles

The following reference titles can be found in Marx Library's reference collection.

Cover Art
Black's Law Dictionary - Bryan A. Garner and Henry Campbell Black
Call Number: KF 156 .B53 2004
ISBN: 0070307091
Definitions of the terms and phrases of American and English jurisprudence, ancient and modern. Includes multiple meanings and examples of word usages with references to cases and laws.

Cover Art
Prentice Hall’s dictionary of American criminal justice, criminology, and criminal law - David N. Falcone
Call Number: KF 9223 .A68 F35 2005
ISBN: 0131921320
This dictionary includes key terms from criminal justice, criminology and criminal law—andprovide complete definitions for this all-important terminology. Many terms are defined with references to case law. Includes a list of transdisciplinary terms, phrases, abbreviations, and acronyms (including the military justice system).

Cover Art
Dictionary of Criminal Justice - George E. Rush
Call Number: HV 7411 .R87 1994
ISBN: 0070307091
Dictionary of terms on law enforcement, courts, probation, parole, corrections, and related subjects. This dictionary focuses on terms commonly used in criminal justice practice.

Cover Art
National Criminal Justice Thesaurus - U.S. Department of Justice
Call Number: CJ 28.28:
ISBN: 01986546
Contains terms used to index literature in the NCJRS database. Source for finding synonyms and broader, narrower and related terms in the criminal justice field.

Cover Art
Criminal Justice Information: How to Find It, How to Use It - Dennis C. Benamati
Call Number: HV 7419.5 .C75 1998
ISBN: 089774957X
Advice on how to do research, establish connections, find information in the library, locate government and international information, as well as Web sources of interest.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the American judicial system : studies of the principal institutions and process of law - Robert J. Janosik
Call Number: KF 154 .E53 1987
ISBN: 0684178079
Covers all aspects of the American legal system. The 88 original essays treat the history of each topic, emphasizing the social context of each period and the economic and political pressures that have shaped interpretation.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice - Joshua Dressler
Call Number: HV 6017 .E52 2002
ISBN: 002865319X
Includes information on the causes of crime, criminal behavior, crime prevention, institutions of criminal justice

Cover Art
Point blank : guns and violence in America - Gary Kleck
Call Number: HN 90 .V5 K56 2005
ISBN: 0160804124
The Senate Judiciary Committee held a hearing focusing on the growing crisis of violent crime in the city of New Orleans and the Gulf region following Hurricane Katrina.

Cover Art
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - Michael J. Hindelang
Tables of data on criminal justice and related topics collected from governmental and private agencies. Also available in electronic version and on the Internet at www.albany.edu/sourcebook/.

Cover Art
Race, class, and the death penalty : capital punishment in American history - Howard W. Allen and Jerome M. Clubb
Call Number: HV 8699 .U5 A725 2008
ISBN: 0791474372
Examines both the legal and illegal uses of the death penalty in American history.

My profile

Profile Image
Angela Doucet Rand
Logo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
10 N. Summit St.
Fairhope, AL 36532
251.928.8133
@allonsdanser
Send Email
Job title:
Head of Information Services
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip