A review of the system for the delivery of Criminal Justice services in the U.S. and an analysis of operational practices at the major criminal justice stages.
Last Updated: Apr 5, 2012
CJ 320: Modern Police Function
Students and faculty members on the Baldwin County campus can request library assistance from the Baldwin County Campus librarian. Services available are reference and research instruction as well as book retrieval services. Contact Angela Rand: 251-928-8133 or firstname.lastname@example.org .
University of South AL subscribes to NetLibrary e-books. These books can be read on your PC. Click on the title link and search by title.
The Costs of Crime and Justice
Covers the Columbine High School shooting and the consequent costs of the crime to the community and families of the victims.
- NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Abstracts Database
Contains documents, citations, and abstracts for journal articles, books, reports, hearings, studies, bibliographies, and statistical reports.
- United Nations Crime and Justice Information Network
Includes U.N. criminal justice country profiles, U.S. Department of Justice sources, recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions, the “World Criminal Justice Library Network,” foreign and international law, criminological institutes, and libraries.
- Uniform Crime Reports, (1998 to present)
National crime statistics for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management, including offenses cleared, persons arrested, homicide patterns, and law enforcement personnel.
- Internet Public Library guide to law enforcement
In January 2010, the Internet Public Library2 website was launched, merging the collections of resources from the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII) websites. The site is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology, and a consortium of colleges and universities.
The following reference titles can be found in Marx Library's reference collection.
Black's Law Dictionary
Call Number: KF 156 .B53 2004
Definitions of the terms and phrases of American and English jurisprudence, ancient and modern. Includes multiple meanings and examples of word usages with references to cases and laws.
Prentice Hall’s dictionary of American criminal justice, criminology, and criminal law
Call Number: KF 9223 .A68 F35 2005
This dictionary includes key terms from criminal justice, criminology and criminal law—andprovide complete definitions for this all-important terminology. Many terms are defined with references to case law. Includes a list of transdisciplinary terms, phrases, abbreviations, and acronyms (including the military justice system).
Dictionary of Criminal Justice
Call Number: HV 7411 .R87 1994
Dictionary of terms on law enforcement, courts, probation, parole, corrections, and related subjects. This dictionary focuses on terms commonly used in criminal justice practice.
National Criminal Justice Thesaurus
Call Number: CJ 28.28:
Contains terms used to index literature in the NCJRS database. Source for finding synonyms and broader, narrower and related terms in the criminal justice field.
Criminal Justice Information: How to Find It, How to Use It
Call Number: HV 7419.5 .C75 1998
Advice on how to do research, establish connections, find information in the library, locate government and international information, as well as Web sources of interest.
Encyclopedia of the American judicial system : studies of the principal institutions and process of law
Call Number: KF 154 .E53 1987
Covers all aspects of the American legal system. The 88 original essays treat the history of each topic, emphasizing the social context of each period and the economic and political pressures that have shaped interpretation.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Call Number: HV 6017 .E52 2002
Includes information on the causes of crime, criminal behavior, crime prevention, institutions of criminal justice
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Tables of data on criminal justice and related topics collected from governmental and private agencies. Also available in electronic version and on the Internet at www.albany.edu/sourcebook/.
Point blank : guns and violence in America
Call Number: HN 90 .V5 K56 2005
The Senate Judiciary Committee held a hearing focusing on the growing crisis of violent crime in the city of New Orleans and the Gulf region following Hurricane Katrina.
Race, class, and the death penalty : capital punishment in American history
Call Number: HV 8699 .U5 A725 2008
Examines both the legal and illegal uses of the death penalty in American history.