Skip to main content

Chicago Style - Quick Guide: Documentary Note Style

Books

Single Author/Editor
Author
Bibliography:
Hassett, Constance W. Christina Rossetti: The Patience of Style. Charlottesville:
      University of Virginia Press, 2005.
Note:
     1. Constance W. Hassett, Christina Rossetti: The Patience of Style (Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2005).

Editor
Bibliography:
Kent, David A., ed. The Achievement of Christina Rossetti. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 1987.
Note:
     1. David A. Kent, ed., The Achievement of Christina Rossetti (Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 1987), 245.

Multitple Authors or Editors

Two  or Three Authors
Bibliography:
Smith, Andrew, and William Hughes.The Victorian Gothic: An Endinburgh Companion:
      Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2014.
Note:
     1. Andrew Smith and William Hughes, The Victorian Gothic: An Edinburgh Companion (Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2014), 198-210.

Four to Ten Authors:
Bibliography:
Include all of the authors in the same way two or three authors are referenced. For more than ten authors, include only the first seven followed by et al.
De Salles, Antonio A.F., Alessandra Gorgulho, Nzhde Agazaryan, Ben Slotman,
     Michael Selch, Aaaron J. Burwick, and Raymond Schulz, eds. Shaped Beam
     Radiosurgery: State of the Art
. New York: Springer, 2011
Note:
List only the first author; use et al to refer to the rest.
     1. De Salles et al., Shaped Beam Radiosurgery: State of the Art (New York: Springer, 2011), 200-220.

Electronic Books

Except for the addition of format or access information, ebooks are referenced and cited in the same manner as print books.

Ebooks often do not have stable page numbers, so use chapter or section numbers instead of pages in your notes.

Books from a Library or Bookseller

Bibliography:
Tartt, Donna.The Goldfinch. New York: Little, Brown and Company, 2013. Kindle Edition.
Note:
        1. Donna Tartt, The Goldfinch (New York: Little, Brown and Company, 2013) Kindle Edition, chap. 5.
        2.Tartt, The Goldfinch, chap 10.

Bibliography:
Elam, Harry. Past as Present in the Drama of August Wilson. Ann Arbor: University of
     Michigan Press, 2006. PDF e-book.
Note:
     3. Harry Elam, Past as Present in the Drama of August Wilson (Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2006) PDF e-book, chap. 15.
     4. Elam, Past as Present in the Drama of August Wilson, chap. 18

Books from Other Online Sources

Include the doi, if available, or the url. Turabian also allows inclusion of an access date and the name of a library database:

Bibliography:
Elam, Harry. Past as Present in the Drama of August Wilson. Ann Arbor: University of
      Michigan Press, 2006. Accessed February 12, 2015. ProQuest ebrary.
Note:
     1. Harry Elam, Past as Present in the Drama of August Wilson (Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2006), accessed February 12, 2015, ProQuest ebrary.

Bibliography:
Schinazi, Rinaldo B. Classical and Spatial Stochastic Processes: With Applications to Biology.
     New York: Springer, 2014. doi:10.1007/978-1-4939-1869-0.
Note:
     2. Rinaldo B. Schinazi, Classical and Spatial Stochastic Processes: With Applications to Biology (New York: Springer, 2014), doi:10.1007/978-1-4939-1869-0.

Bibliography:
Lavery, David, and Cynthia Burkhead, eds. Josss Whedon: Conversations.
      Jackson: Universityof Mississippi Press, 2011. http://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt2tv8t7
Note:
        3. David Lavery and Cynthia Burkhead, eds., Josss Whedon: Conversations (Jackson: Universityof Mississippi Press, 2011), http://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt2tv8t7

Articles

For online articles, the Chicago Manual of Style recommends including an access date only if your discipline requires one. Examples in Turabian all include an access date. It goes before the doi or url.

Example:
Wetzstein, Irmgard, Verena Grubmüller-Régent, Katharina Götsch, and Karin Rainer.
     "Crises and Social Media: A Metastudy on Pertinent Research and Practice." Human
     Technology 
30, no. 2 (2014): 95-124. doi:10.17011/ht/urn.201411203312

Academic Journal

Bibliography:
Wetzstein, Irmgard, Verena Grubmüller-Régent, Katharina Götsch, and Karin Rainer.
     "Crises and Social Media: A Metastudy on Pertinent Research and Practice." Human
     Technology 
30, no. 2 (2014): 95-124.
Electronic Version:
Wetzstein, Irmgard, Verena Grubmüller-Régent, Katharina Götsch, and Karin Rainer. 2014.
     "Crises and Social Media: A Metastudy on Pertinent Research and Practice." Human
     Technology 
30, no. 2 (2014): 95-124. doi:10.17011/ht/urn.201411203312
Note:
     1. Irmgard Wetzstein, Verena Grubmüller-Régent, Katharina Götsch, and Karin Rainer, "Crises and Social Media: A Metastudy on Pertinent Research and Practice," Human Technology 30, no. 2 (2014): 96-97. doi:10.17011/ht/urn.201411203312

Magazine Article

Bibliography
Hass, Nancy.  "Hysteria on Main Street." Newsweek. February 20, 2012.
Electronic Version:
Hass, Nancy. "Hysteria on Main Street." Newsweek. February 20, 2012.
      http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=mih&AN=71766981&site=eds-live.
Note:
     2. Nancy Hass, "Hysteria on Main Street," Newsweek, February, 2012, http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=mih&AN=71766981&site=eds-live.

Newspaper Article

Bibliography:
Olive, David. "The Future of Fracking Is Anything But Rosy." Toronto Star. December 8, 2012.
Electronic Version:
Olive, David. "The Future of Fracking Is Anything But Rosy." Toronto Star. December 8, 2012.
     http://search.proquest.com/docview/1223592312?accountid=14672.
Note:
     3. David Olive, "The Future of Fracking Is Anything But Rosy," Toronto Star, December 8, 2012.

Websites

Like newspaper articles, you can simply mention websites in the text of your paper:

Example:

"The Univesity of South Alabama lists on its website, as of February 18, 2015, that it has awarded 75.540 degrees."

If you need to include a citation in the reference list, include an access date or the date when the site was last updated, if available.

Example:

Bibliography:
Unversity of South Alabama. "About USA." Accessed February 18, 2015..
      http://www.southalabama.edu/aboutusa/.
Note:
     1. "About USA," University of South Alabama, accessed February 18, 2015, http://www.southalabama.edu/aboutusa/.