Related Guides:
Basic Guide to SOUTHcat
- Last Updated Aug 21, 2012
SOUTHcat is the catalog of the libraries at the University of South Alabama. It contains records for the books, electronic books, journals, government documents, CDs, DVDs, and other media items held by the libraries.
51 views this year
- Last Updated Aug 21, 2012
SOUTHcat is the catalog of the libraries at the University of South Alabama. It contains records for the books, electronic books, journals, government documents, CDs, DVDs, and other media items held by the libraries.
51 views this year
Peer-Review: What is It?
- Last Updated Jan 31, 2011
A guide to understanding peer-review and how to find peer-reviewed sources at the University Library
55 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 31, 2011
A guide to understanding peer-review and how to find peer-reviewed sources at the University Library
55 views this year
Plagiarism: Don't Let It Happen to You!
- Last Updated Mar 2, 2011
A guide to understanding plagiarism and how to avoid it
177 views this year
- Last Updated Mar 2, 2011
A guide to understanding plagiarism and how to avoid it
177 views this year
Finding Books
To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.
- Catalog tips and tricks:
- Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("college athletics")
- Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its variants (athlet? finds athlete, athletes, athletics...)
- Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for "college athletics," then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that the subject term is "College sports." Click the subject heading to find more records with this subject.)
- Revise and refine your searches.
- Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
- Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library.
- SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' CatalogSOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
Finding Articles
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- SPORT Discus (EBSCO)Materials on sports sciences. Some full-text.
- CQ ResearcherCovers current controversial topics. Please logout when finished as we have only 5 simultaneous users.
- ProQuest Newspapers
Guide Author |
Links: Profile & Guides Job title: Instructional Services Librarian My favorite books are: Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, Emotionally Weird, A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again, Franny and Zooey, Imogene's Antlers |


Loading...
