This is the "Finding Books & Dissertations" page of the "CA 500: Foundations of Graduate Study in Communication" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CA 500: Foundations of Graduate Study in Communication  

Last Updated: Mar 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/ca500 Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Books & Dissertations Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Kathryn Jones
Contact Info
Marx Library, Room 159
(251) 460-7033
Send Email

Guide Author

Profile Image
Ellen Wilson
Logo - Google Talk
Contact Info
Marx Library 250
251-460-6045
Send Email
Job title:
Instructional Services Librarian
My favorite books are:
Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, Emotionally Weird, A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again, Franny and Zooey, Imogene's Antlers

SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog

To find books and government documents in USA Libraries' collections, use SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog.

  • Catalog tips and tricks:
    • Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("business communication")
    • Truncation – use ? after the root of a word to find all its variants (communicat? finds communicate, communication, communicator)
    • Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for "death penalty," then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that the subject term is "Capital punishment." Click the subject heading to find more records with this subject.)
  • Revise and refine your searches.
  • Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
  • Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library.
  • SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog
    SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.

Electronic Books

  • Ebrary Academic Complete
    A collection of over 70,000 electronic books covering all academic disciplines. Pages from ebrary titles can be printed by using the InfoTools button and choosing Print. You can choose to print the current page, a range of pages (with the maximum number of pages being 60) or an entire chapter.
  • EBSCO eBook Collection
    Formerly called NetLibrary 3. A collection of about 11,173 current electronic books. The checkout period for books from EBSCO is currently 7 days. In order to check out a book, you must create an account with EBSCO. Click on Sign In at the top right on the blue bar, then choose Create a New Account. A maximum of 60 pages may be printed at one time.

Finding Books from Other Libraries

  • Worldcat.org
    Public access to WorldCat. Enter zip code or state to find local libraries.
  • WorldCat (FirstSearch)
    OCLC's database of library holdings around the world. Includes ILL request link. Citations only.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    You can use interlibrary loan to request materials not owned by the USA Libraries. Articles and books located within the state are available at no charge to you, but allow time for locating and mailing materials.
 

Search Google Books

Part of Google's library-scanning project. Only books in the public domain are shown in full text. Others may have just a citation or show selected pages from the book. Remember, you can check SOUTHcat to see if we have a book you find in Google Books if the full text is not available.




Finding Dissertations

USA Dissertations are located in the reference area of the Marx Library on the 2nd floor, north side. They may be checked out. USA dissertations are also listed in the library catalog (SOUTHcat) and in the dissertation database listed below.

NOTE: The Marx Library does not hold many dissertations from other universities, and they can be very hard to obtain. Check with the reference desk if you have problems.

  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
    Use this database to find dissertations from many universities. YOU WILL ONLY HAVE ACCESS TO USA DISSERTATIONS.
  • Dissertation Express
    Free access to the citations, without abstracts, of the dissertations in Dissertation Abstracts. Ordering database only. Search by author, title, or UMI order number.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip