On this page you'll find books, e-books, reference sources, and government documents that might help you with your project. This is just a VERY SMALL SAMPLE of what the library has. You can find more sources by visiting the SOUTHcat catalog. Click the link below to find more books!
50 Events That Shaped American Indian History by 
American Indian Politics and the American Political System by 
The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee by 
Native American Performance and Representation by 
Plundered Skulls and Stolen Spirits by 
The Sea of Grass by 
Handbook of North American IndianThis is an excellent resource provided by the U.S. government. This multi-volume set is divided as follows (note Vol. 1 and Vol. 16 were never published).
The Marx Library holds two sets of volumes, one in the Reference Collection and one in the Bookstacks. Partial volumes are available online via Google Books. To access, click on the hyperlinks below.
| 2. Indians in contemporary society | |
| 3. Environment, origins, and population. | |
| 4. History of Indian-White relations | |
| 5. Arctic | |
| 6. Subarctic | |
| 7. Northwest coast | |
| 8. California | |
| 9.-10. Southwest | |
| 11. Great Basin | |
| 12. Plateau | |
| 13. Plains (2 v.) | |
| 14. Southeast | |
| 15. Northeast | |
| 17. Languages |
These sources can provide you with demographic and population information for Native Americans. Information provided by the U.S. government and GPO.
Stolen Identities: The Impact of Racist Stereotypes on Indigenous People by 
Atlas of American Indian affairs
Atlas of the North American IndianThe national atlas of the United States. Federal and Indian landsThe following list is not intended to be exhaustive. For more reference materials, search SOUTHcat or contact a friendly reference librarian here.
American Indian
American Indian tribesDictionary of the American Indian.
Encyclopedia of American Indian civil rights
The encyclopedia of Native American legal tradition
Encyclopedia of North American Indians
First Peoples by 
Native America in the twentieth century : an encyclopediaNative American issues : a reference handbook
Native Americans : an encyclopedia of history, culture, and peoples
Native American sovereignty on trial : a handbook with cases, laws, and documents
The Praeger handbook on contemporary issues in Native America
Tiller’s guide to Indian country : economic profiles of American Indian reservation
Encyclopedia of Racism in American Films by