Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology
Standards for Accreditation of Graduate Education Programs in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Approved February 2016 | Last Updated October 2017 Effective August 1, 2017. Available at https://caa.asha.org/wp-content/uploads/Accreditation-Standards-for-Graduate-Programs.pdf
Standard 3.0A Curriculum (Academic and Clinical Education) in Audiology
3.1.1.A Professional Practice Competencies
The program must provide content and opportunities for students to learn so that each student can demonstrate the following attributes and abilities and demonstrate those attributes and abilities in the manners identified.
Accountability
Effective Communication Skills
Professional Duty
Collaborative Practice
3.1.4.A Assessment of the structure and function of the auditory and vestibular systems
The program provides academic content and clinical education experiences so that each student can learn and demonstrate knowledge and skills in order to
3.1.6A Intervention to minimize the effects of changes in the auditory and vestibular systems on an individual’s ability to participate in his or her environment
The program’s curriculum provides academic content and clinical education experiences so that each student can learn and demonstrate knowledge and skills in order to
Standard 3.0B Curriculum (Academic and Clinical Education) in Speech-Language Pathology
3.1.1B Professional Practice Competencies
The program must provide content and opportunities for students to learn so that each student can demonstrate the following attributes and abilities and demonstrate those attributes and abilities in the manners identified.
Accountability
Effective Communication Skills
Professional Duty
Collaborative Practice
Medicine
Functions and Structure of a Medical School: Standards for Accreditation of Medical Education Programs Leading to the MD Degree. Published March 2018, for surveys in the 2019-20 academic year, standards and elements effective July 1, 2019. Available at http://lcme.org/publications/
Standard 7: Curricular Content
7.9 Interprofessional Collaborative Skills
The faculty of a medical school ensure that the core curriculum of the medical education program prepares medical students to function collaboratively on health care teams that include health professionals from other disciplines as they provide coordinated services to patients. These curricular experiences include practitioners and/or students from the other health professions.
Nursing
Standards for Accreditation of Baccalaureate and Graduate Nursing Programs, Amended 2018. Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. Available at https://www.aacnnursing.org/CCNE-Accreditation/Resource-Documents/CCNE-Standards-Professional-Nursing-Guidelines
STANDARD III
PROGRAM QUALITY: CURRICULUM AND TEACHING-LEARNING PRACTICES
III-H: The curriculum includes planned clinical practice experiences that:
Elaboration: To prepare students for a practice profession, each track in each degree program and each track in the post-graduate APRN certificate program affords students the opportunity to develope professional competencies and to integrate new knowledge in practice settings aligned to the educational preparation. Clinical practice experiences include opportunities for interprofessional collaboration. Clinical practice experiences are provided for students in all programs, including those with distance education offerings. Clinical practice experiences align with student and program outcomes. These experiences are planned, implemented, and evaluated to ensure students are competent to function as members of interprofessional teams at the level for which they are being prepared.
Programs that have a direct care focus (including, but not limited to post-baccalaureate and nurse education tracks) provide direct care experiences designed to advance the knowledge and expertise of students in a clinical area of practice.
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
National League for Nursing Accreditation Standards for Nursing Education Programs, Approved February 2016. Available at http://www.nln.org/docs/default-source/accreditation-services/cnea-standards-final-february-201613f2bf5c78366c709642ff00005f0421.pdf
Standard V: Culture of Learning and Diversity - Curriculum and Evaluation Processes
| Quality Indicators | Interpretative Guidelines | Supporting Evidence Exemplars |
| V-E. The curriculum provides students with experiential learning that supports evidence-based practice, intra- and interprofessional collaborative practice, student achievement of clinical competence, and as appropriate to the program's mission and expected curricular outcomes, expertise in a specific role or specialty. |
|
|
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
2016 Criteria for Evaluation of Nurse Practitioner Programs, 5th ed. A Report of the National Task Force on Quality Nurse Practitioner Education. Available at http://www.acenursing.net/resources/NTF_EvalCriteria2016Final.pdf
pg. 8 under "Additional Considerations": Similarly, the NTF considered how to advance integration of interprofessional education ((IPE) experiences into the NP curriculum. The NTF agreed that IPE experiences are important to preparing NP students for interprofessional practice, yet the NTF had to balance this with the challenges that still exist for for incorporating IPE into the curriculum. The elaboration of Criterion IV.B.1 includes a recommendation for the inclusion of IPE.
Criterion IV.B.1: The required documentation added faculty oversight of clinical learning experiences. In addition, the revisions to the elaboration offer more guidance about the faculty/student ratio. This guidance allows variation in the faculty/student ratio, taking into consideration more interprofessional education and team-based models of care as well as the use of innovative teaching models.
Occupational Therapy
2018 Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE®) Standards and Interpretive Guide
(effective July 31, 2020) December 2019 Interpretive Guide Version Available at https://acoteonline.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/2018-ACOTE-Standards.pdf
ACCREDITATION STANDARDS FOR DOCTORAL AND MASTER'S DEGREE LEVEL EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM FOR THE OCCUPATIONAL THERAPIST AND ASSOCIATE DEGREE LEVEL EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM FOR THE OCCUPATIONAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT
PREAMBLE
Standard Number B.5.1 for Doctoral Degree Level Educational Program for the Occupational Therapist
Identify, analyze, and evaluate the contextual factors; current policy issues; and socioeconomic, political, geographic, and demographic factors on the delivery of occupational therapy services for persons, groups, and populations to promote policy development and social systems as they relate to the practice of occupational therapy.
Standard Number B.5.1 for Master's Degree Level Educational Program for the Occupational Therapist
Identify, analyze, and evaluate the contextual factors; current policy issues; and socioeconomic, political, geographic, and demographic factors on the delivery of occupational therapy services for persons, groups, and populations to promote policy development and social systems as they relate to the practice of occupational therapy.
Standard Number B.5.1 for the Associate Degree Level Educational Program for the Occupational Therapist Assistant
Identify and explain the contextual factors; current policy issues; and socioeconomic, political, geographic, and demographic factors on the delivery of occupational therapy services for persons, groups, and populations and social systems as they relate to the practice of occupational therapy
Pharmacy
Accreditation Standards and Key Elements for the Professional Program in Pharmacy Leading to the Doctor of Pharmacy Degree (Standards 2016). Available at https://www.acpe-accredit.org/pdf/Standards2016FINAL.pdf
SECTION I: EDUCATIONAL OUTCOMES
The educational outcomes described herein have been deemed essential to the contemporary practice of pharmacy in a healthcare environment that demands interprofessional collaboration and professional accountability for holistic patient well-being.
Standard 3: Approach to Practice and Care
Key Elements:
3.4. Interprofessional collaboration - The graduate is able to actively participate and engage as a healthcare team member by demonstrating mutual respect, understanding, and values to meet patient care needs.
Standard 11: Interprofessional Education (IPE)
The curriculum prepares all students to provide entry-level, patient-centered care in a variety of practice settings as a contributing member of an interprofessional team. In the aggregate, team exposure includes prescribers as well as other healthcare professionals.
Key Elements:
11.1. Interprofessional team dynamics - All students demonstrate competence in interprofessional team dynamics, including articulating the values and ethics that underpin interprofessional practice, engaging in effective interprofessional communication, including conflict resolution and documentation skills, and honoring interprofessional roles and responsibilities. Interprofessional team dynamics are introduced, reinforced, and practiced in the didactic and introductory Pharmacy Practice Experience (IPPE) components of the curriculum, and competency is demonstrated in Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience (APPE) practice settings.
11.2. Interprofessional team education - To advance collaboration and quality of patient care, the didactic and experiential curricula include opportunities for students to learn about, from , and with other members of the interprofessional healthcare team. Through interprofessional education activities, students gain an understanding of the abilities, competencies, and scope of practice of team members. Some, but not all, of these educational activities may be simulations.
11.3. Interprofessional team practice - All students competently participate as a healthcare team member in providing direct patient care and engaging in shared therapeutic decision-making. They participate in experiential educational activities with prescribers/student prescribers and other student/professional healthcare team members, including face-to-face interactions that are designed to advance interprofessional team effectiveness.
Standard 13: Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience (APPE) Curriculum
A continuum of required and elective APPEs is of the scope, intensity, and duration required to support the achievement of the Educational Outcomes articulated in Standards 1-4 and within Appendix 2 to prepare practice-ready graduates. APPEs integrate, apply, reinforce, and advance the knowledge, skills, attitudes, abilities, and behaviors developed in the Pre-APPE curriculum and in co-curricular activities.
Key Elements:
13.3. Interprofessional experiences - In the aggregate, students gain in-depth experience in delivering direct patient care as part of an interprofessional team.
Physical Therapy
STANDARDS AND REQUIRED ELEMENTS FOR ACCREDITATION OF PHYSICAL THERAPIST EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS (Revised 11/11/15; 3/4/16; 10/31/17; 12/7/17). Available at http://www.capteonline.org/AccreditationHandbook/
6F The didactic and clinical curriculum includes interprofessional education; learning activities are directed toward the development of interprofessional competencies including, but not limited to, values/ethics, communication, professional roles, and teamwork. NOTE: this element will become effective January 1, 2018.
Narrative:
6L3 involvement in interprofessional practice
Evidence of compliance:
Narrative:
Professional Ethics, Values and Responsibilities
7D7 Communicate effectively with all stakeholders, including patients/clients, family members, caregivers, practitioners, interprofessional team members, consumers, payers, and policy makers.
Management of Care Delivery
7D28 Manage the delivery of the plan of care that is consistent with professional obligations, interprofessional collaborations, and administrative policies and procedures of the practice environment.
Participation in Health Care Environment
7D37 Assess and document safety risks of patients and the healthcare provider and design and implement strategies to improve safety in the healthcare setting as an individual and as a member of the interprofessional healthcare team.
7D39 Participate in patient-centered interprofessional collaborative practice.
Physician Assistant
Standards of Accreditation for Physician Assistant Education, 4th ed. Available at http://www.arc-pa.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/Standards-4th-Ed-March-2018.pdf
The ARC-PA acknowledges ongoing changes in the delivery of health care and in the education of health professionals. The needs of patients and society must be considered by the ARC-PA, the sponsoring institutions and the programs. Education should be provided in a manner that promotes interprofessional education and practice.
SECTION B: CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION
Introduction
The program curriculum prepares students to provide patient centered care and collegially work in physician-PA teams in an interprofessional team environment. The curriculum establishes a strong foundation in health information technology and evidence-based medicine and emphasizes the importance of remaining current with the changing nature of clinical practice.
B1 CURRICULUM
B1.08 The curriculum must include instruction to prepare students to work collaboratively in interprofessional patient centered teams.
ANNOTATION: Such instruction includes content on the roles and responsibilities of various health care professionals, emphasizing the team approach to patient centered care beyond the traditional physician-PA team approach. It assists students in learning the principles of interprofessional practice and includes opportunities for students to apply these principles in interprofessional teams within the curriculum.