Allied Health Resources: General Resources

Nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 1300 journals indexed in CINAHL.

Free database of randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality.

Comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may link to full-text contents to which University of South Alabama subscribes.

Rehab+ is a searchable physical therapy database and email alert service provided by McMaster University. Although this is a free resources users must create an account in order to use that database.

Developed to help clinicians and researchers identify reliable and valid instruments used to assess patient outcomes. Provides evidence-based summaries that include concise descriptions of psychometric properties, instructions for administering and scoring, a representative bibliography, and, whenever possible, a copy of the instrument.

Citation database. Includes the ability to do citation searching.

Provides a comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.

The premiere resource for Evidence-Based Medicine reviews. This is a Biomedical Library database.

Joanna Briggs Institute is a leading source in evidence-based practice content. The JBI EBP database contains systematic reviews, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, consumer information sheets, systematic review protocols, and technical reports all searchable through the Ovid interface.

Free database of randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality.

An evidence-based clinical decision support resource

Contains full-text versions of a number of major medical texts including Hurst's The Heart, Harrison's Online and Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease (MMBID). Among other things AccessMedicine also includes a USMLE study resource, Diagnosaurus (McGraw-Hill's differential diagnosis tool), Practice Guidelines (from Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care), patient education information, and health news.

Includes medical and surgical journals and e-books along-side guidelines, First Consult, a point-of-care resource, drug monographs, videos, images, and patient education documents.

The Clinical Pharmacology website contains information on prescription, OTC, new and investigational drugs; herbal and nutraceutical products. This is a Biomedical Library database.

Lexicomp is a drug database offering drug monographs, dose calculators, interaction and toxicology information, IV compatibility, drug ID, and patient education materials.

Micromedex database provides excellent clinical information on drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology and alternative medicines. It also contains an array of patient education materials. Biomedical Library database.