Skip to main content

Honors Program Research Guide: Finding Articles

OneSearch

OneSearch simultaneously searches across most of our databases and our catalog. It is a useful way to find books, articles, ebooks and media on a topic.

OneSearch is a great place to start your research on a topic as it covers a wide range of disciplines.

Google Scholar

We know you will use Google, but we want you to use it as efficiently and helpfully as possible, so try using Google Scholar (using this link will take you through our proxy server to authenticate), since it can be set up to connect to the Libraries' full text holdings.

Setting Google Scholar Preferences

Choose Settings from above the Google Scholar search box

Choose Library Links, type University of South Alabama, and check University of South Alabama Libraries - Full-Text@USA

Save your settings.

Once you retrieve a results list, click on the Full-Text@USA link on the right to be taken to the article. If you have connected to Google Scholar using the above link, you will have already been asked to authenticate and should not be asked again.

Subject Specific Databases

When you start doing research in a specific discipline, it is often better to use databases designed for that discipline rather than to rely on OneSearch, which can retrieve many irrelevant results.

Using a database that covers only a specific discipline also allows you to take advantage of the many different functions in the advanced search that OneSearch, because it searches so many databases, cannot provide.

Here are some suggestions for databases by subject: