Skip to main content

Mobile Devices and the Marx Library: Library Databases and Mobile Access

Mobile Optimized Databases

More and more of our databases are becoming mobile-friendly as the use of mobile devices to access them increases. Some database vendors optimize their web sites for mobile access, others use apps, and still others do a combination -- allowing you to pair your device with the web site while on a campus network and then use the mobile app without any need for authentication. These pairings usually have a time limit of around 90 days after which you will need to pair your device again on the campus network.

EBSCO Databases

Currently the Libraries' databases that are the most mobile friendly are our EBSCOhost databases; we have over 35 databases provided by EBSCO, among them are Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier, Education Research Complete, CINAHL, MEDLINE with Fulltext and SocINDEX with Fulltext.

To connect to the University Libraries' EBSCO databases, use the following link:

https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=web

The EBSCO databases automatically detect that you are on a mobile device and display a mobile-opitmized version of the usual EBSCO interface.

EBSCO mobile database screen

Mobile Pairing with MathSciNet

While this is not technically an app, it is a different way to access MathSciNet on a mobile device. It is possible to do this in two ways:

  1. Go to the Marx Library website at http://library.southalabama.edu/, choose Databases & e-Reference, choose MathSciNet and login if you are off-campus.
  2. Pair your mobile device with the AMS web site and you will be able to access MathSciNet on your device without going through the library's website; just go to http://www.ams.org/mathscinet/

The original pairing of your device with AMS must be done while you are on campus accessing the University's network, and it only lasts 90 days; however, as long as you are an authorized student, faculty member or staff at USA, you can renew this pairing as often as you like. Instructions for pairing are below, but a more complete explanation can be found at AMS Mobile Access:

  1. Access MathSciNet at http://www.ams.org/mathscinet/ and click on the Mobile Access icon

    MathSciNet Mobile Access icon
     
  2. At the Welcome to Mobile Pairing screen, click the Yes, continue button.
  3. Accept the pairing license

    MathSciNet Mobile Pairing License
     
  4. You will get a message that the pairing has been successful and you can now use your mobile device without being on the University's network. Remember this pairing only lasts 90 days and will need to be renewed. As long as you are an authorized student, staff or faculty member, you can renew this pairing as often as you like.