Skip to main content

Mobile Devices and the Marx Library: Mobile Apps

University of South Alabama

USA Mobile App The University of South Alabama mobile app is available for the iPad, the iPhone, the iPod Touch and for Android devices.

  1. Download from the App Store or the Play Store
  2. Open the App and scroll until Library becomes the biggest word on the the screen.

                        

EBSCOHOST Mobile

EBSCOHOST Mobile AppEBSCOhost Mobile app is available for the iPhone, the iPod Touch, Android and Blackberry.

EBSCO databases are available optimized for mobile devices at https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com. I would use this rather than the app, but if you want to use an app:

  1. Go to the library's website at http://library.southalabama.edu/
  2. Under Find Articles, choose Articles, Indexes and Databases
  3. Choose EBSCO
  4. Scroll to the bottom of the EBSCO screen and click on EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications
  5. Enter your email address -- this will send you instructions for downloading and a key to use the app
  6. Download the app from the App Store or from the Play Store (for Android)
  7. From your mobile device, open your email and click on the words authentication key in your email.
  8. The authentication key expires in 9 months.

Gale Databases

AccessMyLibrary College EditionAccessMyLibrary College Edition is available for iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch and Android.

  1. Download from the App Store or the Play Store (for Android).
  2. After downloading, open the app, and choose Alabama.
  3. Look for Mobile and choose University of South Alabama.
  4. Enter your University-provided email address and hit send.
  5. You will get a message that you are being sent a password in your email. Check the email and enter the password you've received.
  6. You should now be able to access Gale databases on your mobile device from anywhere.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect Mobile AppThe ScienceDirect mobile app is available for the iPhone, iPad, Android and Blackberry.

  1. Download the app from the App Store, the Play Store (for Android) or Blackberry App World
  2. Register, using your University-provided email address, at https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/newregistration (login as you normally would to access a database from off campus.)
  3. You will receive a confirmation email with a link to click on to verify your email.
  4. Once you do this, the ScienceDirect mobile app will launch automatically.
  5. Because you are affiliated with the University of South Alabama, you have access to the full features of the app.
  6. Fulltext access is the same as the fulltext access for USA at http://www.sciencedirect.com

Scopus Alerts

Scopus Mobile appThe Scopus Alerts mobile app is available for the iPhone, iPad, Android and Blackberry.

  1. Download the app from the App Store, the Play Store (for Android) or Blackberry App World
  2. Register at https://libproxy.usouthal.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com/
  3. Open the app
  4. Enter the username and password you setup when you registered
  5. Enter your university-provided email address -- this is what affiliates you with the University of South Alabama and gives you access to the Scopus mobile app.

ACS Mobile

ACS Mobile The ACS Mobile app is available for iPhone, iPad and Android.

  1. Download from the App Store or the Play Store for free.
  2. The app will only work when you are on campus using the University's network. If you have an individual subscription as part of your ACS membership, id and password authentication will work.

Emerald Journals

Emerald JournalsThe Emerald app is available for the iPhone, the iPod Touch and the iPad. Currently there is not an Android app.

  1. Download from the App Store -- I could not find it when I typed in Emerald; I had to type the developer name, Propeller Group, in order to retrieve the app.
  2. Register, on campus, at http://www.emeraldinsight.com/profile/index.htm
  3. Login into the Emerald App using the username and password you established when you registered.
  4. You can browse and search in the app, and view abstracts, but when you go to read fulltext, you are redirected to the Emerald web site.

ebrary

ebary logoThe ebrary app is available for Andriod, iPad, iPhone and iPod Touch.

  1. Download from the App Store or the Play Store for free
  2. If you do not already have an ebrary account, make sure you are signed into the Marx Library ebrary site and create a personal account by clicking on Sign in at the top right. Then choose Create an account underneath the Sign in using Facebook link.
  3. You will need to sign in to the ebrary app with this account once every 90 days to validate your use
  4. If you want to download full books, you need an Adobe account as well. To create one, go to http://www.adobe.com/ and click on My Adobe, then My Adobe ID, and then Don't have an Adobe ID?

SpringerLink

SpringerLinkThe SpringerLink app is available for iPhone, iPad and Android.

  1. Download the SpringerLink app for free from the App Store or the Play Store.
  2. From within the campus network (or off campus logging in to the university network) create a personal free acount at Springer.
  3. When you use the Springer app off campus, you will be presented with a list of connection options once you request an article.
  4. Choose the Springer login link.
  5. Once you login with your person account you will have access to the fulltext of the article.

Mobile Pairing with MathSciNet

While this is not technically an app, it is a different way to access MathSciNet on a mobile device. It is possible to do this in two ways:

  1. Go to the Marx Library website at http://library.southalabama.edu/, choose Databases & e-Reference, choose MathSciNet and login if you are off-campus.
  2. Pair your mobile device with the AMS web site and you will be able to access MathSciNet on your device without going through the library's website; just go to http://www.ams.org/mathscinet/

The original pairing of your device with AMS must be done while you are on campus accessing the University's network, and it only lasts 90 days; however, as long as you are an authorized student, faculty member or staff at USA, you can renew this pairing as often as you like. Instructions for pairing are below, but a more complete explanation can be found at AMS Mobile Access:

  1. Access MathSciNet at http://www.ams.org/mathscinet/ and click on the Mobile Access icon

    MathSciNet Mobile Access icon
     
  2. At the Welcome to Mobile Pairing screen, click the Yes, continue button.
  3. Accept the pairing license

    MathSciNet Mobile Pairing License
     
  4. You will get a message that the pairing has been successful and you can now use your mobile device without being on the University's network. Remember this pairing only lasts 90 days and will need to be renewed. As long as you are an authorized student, staff or faculty member, you can renew this pairing as often as you like.