Skip to main content

PSC 360: Politics of Europe: Journal & Newspaper Articles

Finding Articles

Use article databases to identify articles on specific topics, as well as to locate full-text electronic articles. Find them on the Articles, Indexes, and Databases page linked from the Library homepage. Remote access is available for most journals.

Multdisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete are a good place to start for most topics. Once you have chosen your paper topic, consult a librarian to see which databases are the best suited for your research. Here is a webpage detailing the technical process of obtaining a fulltext article.

Google Scholar

Set preferences to University of South Alabama to show links to our material.

Recommended Journal Databases

Recommended Newspaper Indexes and Databases

Finding Full Text in an EBSCO Database

To find full text articles in a database, first do a search. (Note: this guide shows an EBSCO database, but the general steps for locating full-text articles will be similar in most databases.)

 

If full text is available within the database, it will be listed below the result in the results list. You may see it in PDF or HTML format.

 

If full text is not an option below the result, use the Check for Full Text button.

 

This will open a new browser window which will tell you if the article's full text is available elsewhere. You are looking for a link that says View this article. Click this link.

screenshot of link resolver

 

You should be taken to the full text of the article in another database. In this case, it is in ScienceDirect.