LibGuides at USA: MGT 300: Management Theory and Practice: How to locate SWOT and Research articles

SWOT Analysis Data Inputs

SWOT Data Inputs
A guide to start your initial search for resources to complete your SWOT Analysis.

Finding Articles

With this link to the MCOB Library webpage, select those business databases to identify articles on a specific topic. Remote access is available to most journals by current students and faculy of the University.

http://www.southalabama.edu/univlib/mcob/articles.shtml

Finding Newspaper articles

Wall Street Journal

Use this link to search the Wall Street Journal specifically for articles on your company.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business and legal research. For educational activities only.

Recommended Databases

NOTE: If SWOT does not display correctly in Business Source Complete, try using a different browser. Google Chrome sometimes does not work.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Locate a SWOT Analysis for a company by typing in the name of the company in the first search box and SWOT Analysis in the second search box. Then, look for the most recent SWOT Analysis for the company.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Formerly Business and Company Resource Center, this database is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Industry and geographic profiles from Mergent and First Research.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Access over 700 U.S. Industry Reports. We have access to reports that start with numbers, but not specialized reports that start with letters (like OD). Database is a little slow loading at first.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A great site that provides statistics on companies, industries, consumer behavior, etc. Try searching for your company or industry.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Look at the left navigational bar for 'companies' where you can pull up a full report on the company you are researching. Then choose Look to the left navigational bar and choose "power search". From the power search screen, you can drill down deeper into industry and news specific to industry publications and company news.

Mergent Investor Edge
This database contains analyst reports and industry information from an investing viewpoint.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online will contain company and industry information and will often include the NAICS code as well. Other information included with be a 5 year history of the key ratios within the company. Mergent Online also provides private company data as well from Dun and Bradstreet.

S&P NetAdvantage
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys online which will provide industry information for the leading industries including industry trends, ratios and how to analyze an industry.
ProQuest Newstand
The major newspapers are covered in this database including the Wall Street Journal.