This is the "Integrative Assignment Resources" page of the "CAS 100: America and the World (Learning Community)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CAS 100: America and the World (Learning Community)  

A guide to library resources for the America and the World learning community.
Last Updated: Nov 7, 2011 URL: http://libguides.southalabama.edu/america-world Print Guide RSS Updates
Integrative Assignment Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Country Information

The following sites provide reliable information about countries worldwide.

 

Selected Reference Books in the University Library

Reference books can be a great source of background information. Below is a list of only a few of the reference books held by the Marx Library that may be useful to you in your group project.

Cover Art
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Middle East and North Africa
Call Number: Reference CT 1866 .B56 2008
ISBN: 9781414418896
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations
ISBN: 9780816045686
Publication Date: 2002

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Call Number: Reference E 183.7 .E52 2002
ISBN: 9780684806570
Publication Date: 2002

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics
Call Number: Reference F 1410 .E56 2001
ISBN: 9781573563062
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Call Number: Reference DS 4 .E53 2002
ISBN: 9780684806174
Publication Date: 2002

Cover Art
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
Call Number: Reference HQ 1115 .G74 2003 v. 3
ISBN: 9780313327872
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Call Number: Reference G 63 .W67 2001
ISBN: 9780787605117
Publication Date: 2001

Finding Books

To find books, search the library catalog. To search for phrases like "Middle East" use quotation marks around the phrase. Using a ? acts as a wildcard, so searching Africa? will find Africa, African, Africana, etc. Combine keywords to find books on a country and a specific topic (example search: rwanda genocide).

  • SOUTHcat: USA Libraries' Catalog
    SOUTHcat is the catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. Use this to find records for books, electronic books, media items, and government documents in our collection.
  • SOUTHcat Tutorials
    This series of tutorials aims to provide an overview of SOUTHcat, the library catalog for the libraries at the University of South Alabama. The library catalog contains records for books, e-books, journal titles, DVDs, CDs, videos, and government documents held by the libraries.

Finding Articles

Newspaper, magazine, and journal articles can be good sources of information. Several places to search are listed below - if you run into problems, ask for help!

  • ProQuest Newsstand
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Database of news, business and legal research. For educational activities only.
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
  • CQ Researcher
    Covers current controversial topics. Please logout when finished as we have only 5 simultaneous users.

Questions? Ask me.

Profile Image
Ellen Wilson
Contact Info
University Library 250
251-460-6045
Send Email
Job title:
Instructional Services Librarian
My favorite books are:
Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, Emotionally Weird, A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again, Franny and Zooey, Imogene's Antlers
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip