Finding Articles
Use article databases to identify articles on specific topics, as well as to locate full-text electronic articles. Find them on the Articles, Indexes, and Databases page linked from the Library homepage. Specialized engineering databases can be found on the Engineering and Computer Science Databases page. Remote access is available for most journals.
In addition to the specialized journal collections and subject indexes, the Library also has multidisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete (an EBSCO database), ScienceDirect, SpringerLink, and Wiley Online Library. See this guide: Finding Scholarly Articles for guidance on searching these databases. You should strongly consider trying these especially if your topic is at all interdisciplinary in nature - as many Engineering topics can be. Once you have decided on your topic, consult a librarian to see which databases are the best suited for your reseach. Here is a webpage detailing the technical process of obtaining a fulltext article.
Chemical Engineering
SciFinder
-
SciFinder - Register for access
SciFinder may now be used through any web browser - users must register with CAS and receive a login name and password. Access through the client software version of SciFinder is no longer available. -
Register first through the link above. For USA faculty and students only. USA has only 3 simultaneous users, shared with 5 other schools.
-
SciFinder How To Guides
SciFinder How To Guides are quick overviews of SciFinder's basic functionality in PDF format.
-
ACS Journals
Web editions of the American Chemical Society journals. Includes all journals from year of first issue.
Civil Engineering
- ASCE Research LibraryFull-text journal articles and conference proceedings. Includes backfiles to 1983 for journals and 1996 for proceedings.
- ICE (Institution of Civil Engineers) ProceedingsAccess only to fulltext for the Proceedings. Coverage varies by title, approximately 2001-current.
Electrical Engineering
- IEEE Xplore USA has access to the IEEE All-Society Periodicals which includes full-text access to IEEE journals, transactions and magazines (1998-current). We do not have access to the proceedings or to IEEE Spectrum or IEEE Potentials. IET titles are indexed but include no links to full-text.
- IET Digital LibraryFull-text of IET Journals 2007-current and the previous titles, IEE Proceedings, 1994-2006. The University Library also has 1980-2006 issues in print. Does not include Electronics Letters and Micro & Nano Letters.
- Using IEEE XploreGraphics illustrating how to find fulltext articles and links to video tutorials.
Mechanical Engineering
- ASME Transactions JournalsAmerican Society of Mechanical Engineers. Fulltext only available for Transactions Journals, 2000-present. 12 of the journals are also indexed in EBSCO's Academic Search Premier.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases are more broadly focused, but provide access to many relevant journals not indexed in the primary engineering related databases. They should be included in any comprehensive search.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- ScienceDirectIncludes more than 257 full-text engineering journals from Elsevier. Access is to journals from 1995 - current.
- SpringerLinkIncludes 154 engineering titles.
- Wiley-InterscienceIncludes more than 100 engineering journals.
- SCOPUSScopus includes a Citation Tracker, Journal Analyzer, and Author Identifier. Subject searching and research is also available.

Loading...
